University of Central Missouri Board of Governors Work Session April 20, 2010

The University of Central Missouri (UCM) Board of Governors convened a Work Session at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 20, 2010, in Union 237A on UCM's main campus in Warrensburg, Missouri. Presiding over the meeting was Board Vice President Walter Hicklin. Board members in attendance were Weldon Brady, Mary Long, Mary Dandurand, Marvin Wright, Edward Baker, and Ryan Sanders. Also present were Provost George Wilson; General Counsel Henry Setser; Assistant Secretary to the Board Monica Huffman; Dean of the Harmon College of Business Administration Joan Mansfield; and staff members from UCM's Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies & Development Terry Nixon and Brad Snyder. Board President Phillips was unable to attend the session.

Call to Order – Agenda Item No. 1

Mr. Hicklin called the meeting to order and determined that a quorum was present to conduct business.

Business Incubator – Agenda Item No. 2

Mr. Nixon and Mr. Snyder presented information contained in a briefing paper included with the meeting materials (Attachment) and a Power Point presentation. Provost Wilson explained the purpose of today's presentation was to determine the Board's interest before IESD pursues this initiative further.

There was discussion surrounding current and future funding needs for such an initiative, as well as community interest. Following the presentation, Provost Wilson, Dean Mansfield and Mr. Nixon and Mr. Snyder departed the meeting. The Board discussed the matter further and determined that due to the current economic climate, it was not interested in pursuing this initiative at this time.

Request for Closed Session - April 20, 2010 - Agenda Item No. 3

Dr. Long moved pursuant to the Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 610.021, that the UCM Board of Governors meet in closed meeting, with closed record and closed vote for the purpose of considering real estate matters, legal actions, and personnel matters. The motion was seconded by Ms. Dandurand and carried with the following roll call vote:

Walter Hicklin	aye	Edward Baker	aye
Weldon Brady	aye	Mary Long	aye
Marvin Wright	aye	Mary Dandurand	aye