University of Central Missouri Board of Governors Presidential Search Advisory Committee Plenary Session February 3, 2010

The University of Central Missouri Board of Governors Presidential Search Advisory Committee convened in Plenary Session on Wednesday, February 3, 2010, at 1:00 p.m. in Union 237B on the main campus of the University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, Missouri. Present were Board President Richard Phillips and Board members Weldon Brady and Mary Dandurand. Also present were General Counsel Henry Setser; Assistant Secretary to the Board Monica Huffman; presidential search consultant Ken Hutchinson; and committee members Joe Arce, Holly Davenport, Davie Davis, Mollie Dinwiddie, Larry Haase, Peggy Harrison, Rebecca Klein, Barbara Martin, Kati Roach, Gregory Sorell, Eugene Stillman, Scott Strohmeyer, John Wilson, Ron Woolsey, Mike Wright, and Dale Zank. Committee members Norman Betz, Scott Norwood, Ryan Sanders, and Judy Vickrey were unable to attend.

Welcome & Introductions

Board President Phillips welcomed everyone to the meeting and introductions were made. He then spoke about the importance of the committee's work. Mr. Phillips announced after careful deliberation the Board asked Dean Michael Wright to chair the Presidential Search Advisory Committee and he accepted.

Mr. Phillips introduced Ken Hutchinson of Hutchinson Consulting LLC, who in partnership with Baker & Associates is assisting UCM in its presidential search. Mr. Hutchinson has met with a number of campus constituencies and will meet with several groups in Kansas City and across the state this month.

Committee Responsibilities

Mr. Hutchinson reviewed the Committee's responsibilities as outlined in the letter from Board President Phillips included in the meeting materials (Attachment 1).

Mr. Hutchinson called on General Counsel Setser to explain the Committee's responsibilities under the Missouri Sunshine Law. Mr. Setser explained that the Presidential Search Advisory Committee is a Board constituted committee, making it subject to the Missouri Sunshine Law. He discussed the implications of this and stressed the importance of confidentiality regarding matters discussed in Closed Session.

Questions were raised concerning the information Committee members could share with their respective constituent groups. Mr. Hutchinson stated that Committee members would be limited to sharing only information discussed in open meetings.

It was suggested that the Committee have a point person for whom they could direct individuals with questions. It was agreed that Committee Chair Wright would serve this role.

Search Process & Timeline

Mr. Hutchinson reviewed the 2010 Presidential Search Timeline included with the meeting materials (Attachment 2).

Request for Closed Session – February 3, 2010

Ms. Dinwiddie moved pursuant to the Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 610.021, that the Presidential Search Advisory Committee meet in closed meeting, with closed record and closed vote, immediately following today's Plenary Session for the purpose of considering a personnel matter. The motion was seconded by Mr. Stillman and carried with the following roll call vote:

Joe Arce	aye	Katie Roach	aye
Holly Davenport	aye	Gregory Sorrell	aye
Davie Davis	aye	Eugene Stillman	aye
Mollie Dinwiddie	aye	Scott Strohmeyer	aye
Larry Haase	aye	John Wilson	aye
Peggy Harrison	aye	Ron Woolsey	aye
Rebecca Klein	aye	Mike Wright	aye
Barbara Martin	aye	Dale Zank	aye

The Plenary Session concluded at 1:50 p.m.