University of Central Missouri Board of Governors Special Meeting (Open) March 22, 2011

The University of Central Missouri (UCM) Board of Governors convened a special meeting (open) via teleconference on Tuesday, March 22, 2011, at 10:00 a.m. The call originated from ADM 204 on UCM's main campus, Warrensburg, Missouri. Participating from ADM 204 were Governors Weldon Brady and Mary Dandurand. Participating by phone were Board President Walter Hicklin and Governors Marvin Wright, Edward Baker, and Darren Doherty. Governors Richard Phillips and Mary Long were unable to participate and were excused. Also present were President Charles Ambrose; Provost George Wilson; General Counsel Henry Setser; University Director for Intercollegiate Athletics Jerry Hughes; Assistant Secretary to the Board Monica Huffman; Controller John Merrigan; and staff members Chris Wellman, Larry Ray, Michael Smith, and Jeff Murphy.

Call to Order

Mr. Hicklin called the meeting to order and asked for a roll call. He determined that a quorum was present to conduct business.

Pertle Springs Club House - Agenda Item No. 1

Dr. Ambrose referred the Board to a briefing paper provided in advance of the meeting, which contained background information related to the construction of a club house at Pertle Springs. He noted that the majority of construction would be paid for with a private donation of \$1.5 million made by Mrs. Audrey J. Walton and the remaining amount of \$279,206 would be paid with an internal loan. This loan will be repaid by revenues generated by the new clubhouse over a five-year period.

Dr. Ambrose said that Mr. Setser is working with Sodexo on a food service agreement that includes such items as inventory, services, hours of operation, menus, equipment, and compensation that will be part of UCM's revenue stream. Mr. Hughes added that the club house may be reserved for special functions which should generate additional revenue. Mr. Hicklin asked what provisions are being made to repay the loan if the expected revenue is not realized. Dr. Ambrose answered that funds from the Pertle Springs budget would have to be reallocated to cover the loan costs; however, some growth is already evident and he anticipates the revenue needed to repay the loan will be generated.

Mr. Baker asked what the square footage is for facility. Mr. Hughes said it is just over 5,000 square feet.

Mr. Wright moved that the Board of Governors approve award of contract to Reasbeck Construction, Inc., Warrensburg, Missouri in the amount of \$1,405,596.93 for the construction

of a new club house at Pertle Springs Golf Course. The motion was seconded by Mr. Brady and carried with the following roll call vote:

Weldon Brady	aye	Edward Baker	aye
Mary Dandurand	aye	Marvin Wright	aye
Walter Hicklin	aye		

Faculty Early Retirement Incentive Program – Agenda Item No. 2

President Ambrose and Provost Wilson provided an update on the Faculty Early Retirement Incentive Program approved by the Board at its February 24, 2011, meeting. The program was implemented on a first-come-first-serve basis to the first 25 individuals that responded. In total, 34 individuals stated interest in participating in the program; however, four individuals withdrew their names, two of which were part of the first 25 respondents. There are five individuals remaining that will not be permitted to participate due to the limit established at the start of the program. Management will evaluate the financial implications of reopening the program for a second round and be prepared to discuss at the Board's March meeting.

Other – Agenda Item No. 3

There were no other matters to discuss during open session.

Request for Closed Session - March 22, 2011 - Agenda Item No. 4

Ms. Dandurand moved pursuant to the Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 610.021, that the UCM Board of Governors meet in closed meeting, with closed record, and closed vote, for the purpose of considering real estate matters, legal actions, and personnel matters. The motion was seconded by Mr. Wright and carried with the following roll call vote:

Weldon Brady	aye	Edward Baker	aye
Mary Dandurand	aye	Marvin Wright	aye
Walter Hicklin	aye		