Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content



Gateway Advising and Major Exploration Center

Ward Edwards 1900
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660.543.4721
gateway@ucmo.edu



Gateway Advising and Major Exploration Center

Welcome to the Gateway Center!

We are committed to providing individualized assistance in a comfortable atmosphere to all students who are exploring their choice of majors.

Click on the links below to learn more about what Gateway can offer you:

Gateway Academic Advising

Career Counseling

Exploring Majors & Careers Academic Course

Career Development Ambassadors (CDA) Mentoring Program

The Gateway Center provides student-focused academic advising for Open Option majors, UCM students who are in the process of exploring their major and minor options.  The emphasis is on assisting still deciding students in carefully selecting classes that progress you toward graduation even though you are still exploring your academic direction. 

In addition to gateway academic advising for Open Option majors, we offer several major and career exploration services to all UCM Students, whether you are Open Option, reconsidering your current major, or seeking further insight into your academic program and corresponding career options. Whether through one-on-one counseling appointments or in class, special emphasis is given to an exploration of self through the use of career assessments, interactive exercises, informational interviews, and online career resources. The focus begins with facilitating the methodical discovery of your academic and professional passions, and continues with the development of a plan to accomplish your goals.

Contact Us:
Gateway Advising and Major Exploration Center

Ward Edwards 1900, University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone:  660-543-4721
Fax:  660-543-8119
Email:  gateway@ucmo.edu

Meet the Gateway Center Team:

Ken SchuellerKen Schueller
Director, Career Development Services /Career Counselor
schueller@ucmo.edu

Emily ElfrinkEmily Elfrink
Student Assistant

Gwena BasingerGwena Basinger

Office Professional

basinger@ucmo.edu

Julia GarzaJulia Garza
CDA

Carmen Binder
Career Counselor
binder@ucmo.edu

Brooke HerreraBrooke Herrera
CDA
Michelle DahlstromMichelle Dahlstrom
Career Counselor
mdahlstrom@ucmo.edu

Kayla KuseKayla Kuse
CDA

Dana HooverDana Hoover
Career Counselor
hoover@ucmo.edu
                           Destini Miller
                           Student Assistant
Christen WhartonChristen Wharton
Graduate Assistant
wharton@ucmo.edu
Brittany RalstonBrittany Ralston
Student Assistant
Candace AbbeyCandace Abbey
CDA
Savanna WesleySavanna Wesley
Student Assistant

Hunter BerryHunter Berry
CDA

 


Ashley Williams