Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Criminal Justice Team Claims Unprecedented Seventh National Title

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (May 4, 2009) – UCM's Gamma Epsilon Delta chapter of the American Criminal Justice Association/Lambda Alpha Epsilon recently returned from the 72nd ACJ/LAE National Conference in Jacksonville, FL, with the prize they went to claim -- an unprecedented seventh consecutive national championship.

UCM claimed the sweepstakes title by receiving 13 of the 54 awards in the academic testing area. The team also received eight of the nine individual awards for firearms and five of the nine firearms team trophies. A UCM lower division team finished with a first place trophy, two upper division teams received first and second, while the professionals put teams in the first and second spot.

“Our team members were very diverse in their accomplishments,” said Roger Pennel, UCM professor of criminal justice and chapter adviser. “The team overall is well spread out and very diverse in their accomplishments.  Seventeen of the 27 trophy winners received two or more trophies, and of the 38 people who attended from our chapter, 27 won awards.”

In Criminal Law, Mike Pemberton placed third in the upper division. In Police Management, Clarinda Garrett placed first and Jessica Nelson placed third in the upper division, and Roger Pennel placed second and Charlie Pappert third in the professional division.

Jennifer Ianno placed first in Corrections in the upper division. In LAE Knowledge, Steven Verble placed first and Ianno third in the upper division, and Pappert placed first in the professional division.

In Individual Crime Scene Investigation, Verble placed first, Danielle Hoskins placed second and Amy Lovins placed third in the upper division. Pennel placed first in the professional division.

In Individual Firearms, lower division, Nick Luke placed first, Tom Beyer, second, and John Newman, third. In upper division, Bryan Wilkins placed first, Wes Prettyman, second, and Hoskins, third. Richard Gillespie placed first and Mike Staat, third, in the professional division. Gillespie earned the prestigious Top Gun Award.

In Team Firearms competition, the team of Newman, Luke and Ryan Armstrong placed first in the lower division, and Audra Leis, Tom Noble and Hoskins placed second in the upper division. Steve Aston, Beyer and Bryan VanFleet placed third in the professional division, and Gillespie, Staat and Pappert placed first.

In Team Crime Scene Investigation, the lower division team of VanFleet, Newman and Armstrong took first. The upper division team of Prettyman, Ianno and Nelson took first, and the upper division team of Lisa Jordan, Casey Guyer and Chelsea Mataker placed second. The professional division team of Gillespie, Staat and Pennel placed first, and the team of Aston, Leis and Pappert placed second.

Judi Eastland placed first in Physical Agility in the Female 36 and Over division, and Nelson placed second in the lip sync competition.  In the Student Paper competition, John Alderman placed second in the upper division, and Ianno placed second and Nelson, third, in the graduate division.

The chapter earned the overall Spirit Award, ,which is based upon attendance at all events during the week-long competition, participation in the various areas of competition, proper conduct and attire, and overall good citizenship. The UCM chapter also was recognized for their Sweepstakes Award in the Region III Competition last fall.

CJ Team
Members of UCM's Gamma Epsilon Delta chapter of the American Criminal Justice Association/Lambda Alpha Epsilon who recently attended the group’s national conference were, seating, left to right, Steve Aston, Rachael Feagan, Jennifer Ianno, Roger Pennel, advisor; John Alderman and John Newman; kneeling, left to right, Steven Verble, Casey Guyer; third row, left to right, Chelsea Mataker, Judi Eastland, Melissa May, Clarinda Garrett, Julie Ann Cross, Kelly Duggan, Rhonda Maratea, Jessica Nelson, Tabitha Markwardt, Lisa Jordan, Danielle Eickhoff, Amy Lovins; fourth row, left to right, Mike Pemberton, Tom Noble, Danielle Hoskins, Tom Beyer, Audra Leis, Bryan Wilkins, Wes Prettyman, Bryan VanFleet, Mike Staat, Ryan Armstrong, Jeryn Batman and Nick Luke. Not pictured are Richard Gillespie, advisor; Brent Jepson, Charles Light, Deanne Bogg, Charlie Pappert and Mendy Lynn Storie.