Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Doherty Named Student Member of UCM Governing Board

Contact :Jeff Murphy
WARRENSBURG, MO (Aug. 3, 2010) – Missouri Governor Jay Nixon has appointed Darren Doherty, a University of Central Missouri graduate student from Blue Springs, to serve as the student member of the institution’s governing board.

Darren Doherty
Darren Doherty

Doherty’s appointment to the UCM Board of Governors extends through Dec. 31, 2011. He replaces Ryan Sanders, Foristell, whose term on the board expired.

"I am very enthusiastic about being selected to be the next student member of the UCM Board of Governors. With that being said, I am humbled by the endeavor that is ahead of us,” Doherty said, noting that he will serve at a time when the university faces tough financial challenges. “I will do everything in my power to represent the best interests of the students of the university and see that the opportunities that have always been available to students only continue to grow.”

Doherty completed a bachelor’s degree in political science at UCM in May 2010, and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in criminal justice. In addition to his graduate studies, he works as a firefighter/emergency medical technician in the Warrensburg Fire Department’s Student Resident Program.

He brings student leadership experience to his board position, having served as a senator and two-term president of the Student Government Association. He also served as a student ambassador, vice president of Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity, vice president and member of the University Student Housing Association, and a member of Greeks Advocating the Mature Management of Alcohol. Among his many accomplishments as a UCM student, Doherty achieved three-time national honors as a UCM Mock Trial Team attorney and team captain.

UCM’s Board of Governors is the university’s chief governing body, and is composed of eight members who are appointed by the state’s governor.  The student member of the board is the only non-voting member.