Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Hoffman Recognized by NATAS for Contributions to Broadcasting Education

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (July 8, 2015) – Phil Hoffman, director of broadcasting services at the University of Central Missouri and general manager of KMOS-TV, UCM’s public broadcasting station, recently received the 2015 Board of Governors Award from The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Lower Great Lakes Chapter.

Hoffman NATAS
Tom Farmer, president of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, center left, presents Phil Hoffman, center right, with the NATAS Board of Governor's Award. Also present were members of the NATAS Board of Governors and the Indiana Pacettes.

The award recognizes Hoffman's contributions to the chapter during his decade-long tenure as chair of the education committee.As noted by NATAS President Tom Farmer, "Thanks to Phil's efforts, we have awarded more scholarships and have more applications for scholarships than ever."

Hoffman came to UCM in July 2014 from the University of Akron in Ohio. He has an extensive background in broadcast management and production for network television affiliates across the country.

The mission of the Lower Great Lakes Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is to serve its members, recognize excellence and promote the highest standards in television professionalism.The chapter serves major market television stations from Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Indiana.

"I'm grateful to the academy for presenting me with this acknowledgement of my work with the scholarship committee at NATAS,” Hoffman said. “But for me, the best part of that work was being able to help young, talented broadcasters get some help in pursuing their education.”

The award was presented at the NATAS Awards show in Indianapolis at Banker's Life Fieldhouse, home of the Indiana Pacers basketball team.