Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Department of Music Presents Provost’s Faculty Showcase

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (Sept. 11, 2012) – Deborah Curtis, the provost and chief learning officer at the University of Central Missouri, presents the opening of the fall Department of Music performance season as she hosts the 2012 Provost’s Faculty Showcase at 7:30 p.m. Friday Sept. 21, in Hart Recital Hall.

The public is invited to attend, free of charge. The annual event provides an opportunity for the campus and local communities to enjoy the depth of experience and talent of the music faculty.

Opening the program, Joan Ferguson, instructor of harp and a new member of the UCM music faculty, will perform “Etude de Concert: au Matin” by Marcel Tournier on harp, followed by Eric Honour with  a new music presentation of “Number Stations for Alto Saxophone” by American composer Paul Leary, featuring video accompaniment. Tenor Jacob Sentgeorge, accompanied by Mia Hynes on piano, will then perform “Nebbie” by Ottorino Respighi.

Michael Bersin, on cello, accompanied on piano by Tian Tian, will present “Serenade, Op. 54, No. 2,” and “Spinnlied, Op. 55, No. 1” by David Popper, and a quintet of Sheri Mattson, oboe; James Gai, clarinet; Gary Moege, horn; Charles Wines, bassoon; and Mia Hynes, piano, will perform “Largo, Allegro moderato” from Mozart’s “Piano Quintet in E-flat Major.”

Following intermission, Hynes and Tian will perform in a piano duet of “Ragtime alla turca,” arranged by Greg Anderson from music originally composed by Mozart. Tenor David Adams will then present “The Cold Earth Slept Below” from “The Everlasting Universe” by local composer John Mueter, a member of the music faculty at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, followed by Mattson’s presentation of “Two Pieces for Oboe” by Ross Edwards.

Soprano Stella Roden, accompanied by Tian, will present “O del mio amato ben” by Stefano Donaudy, and closing the program will be the presentation of Wayne Shorter’s “Black Nile” by David Aaberg on trumpet; Moege on guitar; John Check on bass and Michael Sekelsky on drums.

Patrons will have an opportunity to the meet faculty at a reception following the program in the reception area outside Hart Recital Hall.