Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Koster to Receive Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (April 1, 2011) – Honoring his commitment to Missourians and his role in state government, the University of Central Missouri’s Student Government Association will honor Missouri Attorney General Chris Koster with the 2011 James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award.

Chris Koster

Missouri Attorney General Chris Koster

Koster will become the 26th recipient of the annual award at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 7, in the read and relax area on the first floor of the UCM James C. Kirkpatrick Library. The public is invited to attend.

Chris Koster was sworn in as Missouri’s 41st Attorney General on Jan. 1, 2009.  As attorney general, Koster has focused efforts on detecting and prosecuting Medicaid fraud, pursuing mortgage-relief and debt-settlement scams, cracking down on fraudulent auto service contract businesses, using Missouri’s legal authority to protect our water resources, and educating public officials about their obligations under Missouri’s Sunshine Law.

Prior to being elected attorney general, Koster served in the Missouri Senate from 2004 to 2008, representing Cass, Johnson, Bates, and Vernon counties.  He previously served as Cass County prosecuting attorney for 10 years.

Koster was born and raised in St. Louis. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri and the University of Missouri School of Law. He also earned a Master of Business Administration degree from Washington University in St. Louis.

Since 1986, the UCM Student Government Association has presented the Excellence in Governance award to individuals who have significantly contributed to excellent government. The SGA Internal Issues Committee selects the recipient from nominees who promote good governmental procedures, efficiency and economy in government, and policies that are in the public’s best interest.

The award is named for the late James C. Kirkpatrick, the UCM alumnus who served 20 years as Missouri's Secretary of State. Past recipients of the award include Gov. Mel Carnahan, Gov. Matt Blunt, State Rep. Deleta Williams, Sen. Claire McCaskill, Gov. Jay Nixon, Secretary of State Robin Carnahan and State Senator David Pearce.