Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Academic Affairs / Provost

Administration 203
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4116

past award winners

Governor's Excellence in Teaching Award

 The Governor's Excellence in Teaching Award will be presented to an outstanding faculty member from each participating higher education institution. The following will be considered:

Byler Distinguished

Faculty Award


 The Byler Distinguished Faculty Award is considered the highest recognition the university bestows on a professor.

       Criteria are teaching, scholarly and/or creative activity, and professionally related service.

       Activities should reflect a tenure track full professor’s sustained excellence in these areas.

       Evidence of teaching excellence and professional development throughout the career.





                            A call for nominations will be distributed each spring for the Byler Award. Nominees will be asked to
                           electronically submit documentation for consideration.



The Faculty Senate Faculty Award Committee selects the recipients of UCM faculty awards.

Questions related to faculty awards should be directed to the Chair of the Faculty Senate Faculty Award Committee.


Recent Recipients of the Governor's Excellence in Teaching Award


2017 pending 2011 Dr. James Staab
2016 Dr. Matt Thomas


Dr. Janice Putnam


Dr. Ken Bias


Dr. Sharlene Bax


Dr. Dawna Butterfield


Dr. Renee Cole


Dr. Scott Lubaroff


Dr. Kathleen Desmond


Dr. Dane Miller


Dr. Frances Reddington


Recent Recipients of the Byler Award


    2012 Dr. Mick Luehrman
2017 Dr. Dan Crews 2011 Dr. Rhonda McKee
2016 Dr. Jo Lynne Koehn 2010 Dr. David Kreiner
2015 Dr. Pat Antrim 2009 Dr. Eric Honour
2014 Dr. James Staab 2008 Mr. Kevin Prufer
2013 Dr. Richard Herman 2007 Dr. Joseph Ryan