Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content



Center for Teaching & Learning

Administration 304F
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660.543.8528
mewilson@ucmo.edu





New Faculty Orientation

The Network for Instructional Support and Enhancement Committee (NISE) and Academic Affairs hosts a development worshop each fall before the start of the semester for new faculty. New Faculty Orientation for 2013 was held August 13th – 15th on the UCM campus in Warrensburg.The NISE Committee was established to provide non-evaluative instructional support for new faculty. The goal of NISE is to promote and enhance teaching effectiveness and student learning as central to the mission of the University. To accomplish this goal, NISE will supports new faculty throughout the year as mentors, beginning with the three day workshop during orientation week.

NISE Committee Members:

Carl Grigsby, Associate Professor, Educational Foundations & Literacy, NISE Committee Chair

Ann McCoy, Associate Professor, Mathematics Education, NISE Committee Member

Scott Smith, Associate Professor, Marketing, NISE Committee Member

Rahila Weed, Associate Professor, Art & Design, NISE Committee Member

Melissa Wilson, Coordinator, Center for Teaching & Learning, NISE Committee Member

 

New Faculty 2013-2014

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Mr. Joseph Alfino, English, 660-543-4855, alfino@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: University of Central Missouri. Conference Papers:  “Classic Creation in Ragtime’s Modern America” Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture since 1900, University of Louisville, Feb 23-25, 2012. “Parade's End and the Bloody Divorce(s) of Christopher Tietjens” Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture since 1900, University of Louisville, Feb 21-23, 2013. Teaching Interests: Progressive learning techniques that underscore the importance of strong writing in the workplace. Jokes are also important.

 

Ms. Sherry Altis, English, 660-543-4425, altis@ucmo.edu

 

Dr. Gary Brattin, Music, 660-543-4854, brattin@ucmo.edu

 

Mr. Ryan Cannon, Digital Media Production, Assistant Professor, 660-543-4469, rdcannon@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Brigham Young University, Master’s Degree: University of Texas at Austin. Notable Accomplishments: James A. Michener Fellowship in Screenwriting, "Best in Show" ADDY Award, Silver Telly Award, Official Selection Sundance Film Festival and South by Southwest Film Festival. Teaching Interests: Film production and screenwriting. Projects: Feature-length screenplays in various stages of development, Short film in final stages of post-production

 

Dr. Amanda D. Drake, English and Philosophy, Instructor, 660-543-4064 #2, adrake@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: University of Central Missouri. PhD: University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Notable Accomplishments: Recipientof the Pulos Fellowship for new graduate students in Nineteenth-Century Literature at the University of Nebraska. Teaching Interests: Gothic literature, Nineteenth-Century British Literature (Romantic and Victorian), The Novel, Composition.

 

Ms. Chelsea Everly, English, 660-543-4425, everly@ucmo.edu

 

Dr. Michael Graves, Communication, 660-543-4782, mgraves@ucmo.edu. PhD: University of Kansas

Ms. Kristee Haney, Music, 660-543-4470, khaney@ucmo.edu

 

Dr. Masa Higo, Sociology, 660-543-4226, higo@ucmo.edu

 

Ms. Stephanie M. Jorandby, Theatre and Dance, Instructor of Costume Design, 660-543-4020, jorandby@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Wisconsin Lutheran College. Master’s Degree: Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Notable Accomplishments: Resident Costume Designer, Wisconsin Lutheran College, Costume Crafts head, McLeod Summer Playhouse, Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival, Barbizon Design Competition Costume Design Finalist, Costume Designer: North Country Center for the Arts Papermill Children's Theatre, Lincoln, NH. Teaching Interests: Costume Design and Technology, Collaboration, General Theatre

Mr. Blake Lowther, Art & Design, 660-543-4481, lowther@ucmo.edu

Dr. Zaid Mahir, English, 660-543-4064, mahir@ucmo.edu

Mr. John Malta, Art & Design, 660-543-4481, malta@ucmo.edu

Dr. Star Nance, History and Anthropology, Assistant Professor, 660-543-8680, nance@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: University of Central Oklahoma. Master’s Degree: University of Oklahoma. Notable Accomplishments: Noble High School Teacher of the Year-2005. Teaching Interests: Controversial Public Issues in the Social Studies Classroom, Discussion, Civic Education, Social Studies Education, Feedback and Assessment. Projects: Feedback in the Social Studies Classroom, Using Text Sets in High School Classrooms, Creating Historical Fiction.

Dr. Eric Newsom, Communication and Sociology, Assistant Professor, enewsom@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: Western Carolina University. Doctorate: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Teaching Interests: New Media, web design, social media, digital production, graphic design, creative communities, media studies, film.

Dr. Allison Robbins, Music, Assistant Professor of Music, asrobbins@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Bowdoin College, Master’s Degree: University of Virginia, PhD in Musicology. Teaching Interests: Western music history, American music (esp. Broadway/Hollywood musicals), Film music/music and media. Current research projects: Music and the American West, esp. music in Wild West shows, Playback and recording techniques in production of 1930s Hollywood musicals.

Mr. Marco Rosichelli, Department of Art & Design, Assistant Professor, 660.543.4815, rosichelli@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Southern Oregon University, Master’s Degree: Arizona State University. Notable Accomplishments: Artist in Residence, Vermont Studio Center (2011), Strategic Investment Grant Awardee, Montana Arts Council (2011), Emerging Educator Fellowship, Integrative Teaching International (FATE) Forum (2010), Board Member, Membership committee, International Sculpture Center (2010-present), Ranked "Top 100 Creatives in Phoenix, AZ", Phoenix New Times (2010).

Ms. Linda Schnakenberg, English, 660-543-4425, lschnakenberg@ucmo.edu

Dr. Julia Stock, Modern Languages, stock@ucmo.edu. Master’s Degree: Philipps Universitaet Marburg (Germany), Doctorate: University of Kansas. Teaching Interests: German language, literature, and culture. Projects: Working on an article about Luise Rinser.

College of Education

Ms. Rene Burress, Library Science and Information Services, Instructor, burress@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Saint Louis University, Master’s Degree: University of Central Missouri. Notable Accomplishments: President of Greater Kansas City Association of School Librarians. Teaching Interests: School Libraries, Educational Technology

Dr. Angela Jean Danley, Early Childhood and Elementary Education, Assistant Professor / Generalist, 660.543.8923, danley@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Avila University, Master’s Degree: Webster University,  Doctorate Degree: University of Missouri – Kansas City. Notable Accomplishments: Earned Education Specialist-UCM (2009), Earned Excellence in Teaching Award -Lee's Summit R-7 School District (2011), Presented at the Missouri Association for Elementary Education Spring Conference - 2013. Teaching Interests: Reading and Writing Across the Content Areas, Analysis of Reading. Projects: Dissertation- The Effects of a Looping Classroom Among Third Grade Students in an Urban Setting - 2012

Ms. Kathleen Hadel-Racy, Elementary & Early Childhood Education, 660-543-4235, hadel-racy@ucmo.edu

Ms. Lisa Jacques, Educational Foundations, 660-543-4802, ljacques@ucmo.edu

Dr. Adriatik Likcani, Educational Leadership and Human Development, Assistant Professor, 660-543-4244, likcani@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: University of Tirana, Albania, Master’s Degrees: University of Nebraska-Lincoln (MFT), University of Missouri Kansas City (MSW). Notable Accomplishments: Co-founder and Executive Director of Recovery Lighthouse, Inc., a nonprofit social service agency. Two-time Fellow of the MinorityFellowship Program, American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy. Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. Teaching Interests: Child and Family Development, Advocacy and Family Policy, Mental Health & Substance Abuse, Human Services. Projects: Publication of research on "Intimate Partner Violence and Differentiation.” Research on professional coaching for substance abuse counselors.

English Language Center

Ms. Lindsey Simanowitz, English Language Center, 660-543-8131, simanowitz@ucmo.edu

Ms. Jill Thomas, English Language Center, 660-543-8280, jdthomas@ucmo.edu

Ms. Katelyn Wharton, English Language Center, 660-543-8131, kwharton@ucmo.edu

Harmon College of Business & Professional Studies

Ms. Sarah Bailey, Accountancy & CIS, Assistant Professor, 660-543-8608, sebailey@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: University of Central Missouri. Teaching Interests: Corporate Taxation

Dr. Glenn Dutcher, Economics, Finance and Marketing, Assistant Professor, (660)543-8580, dutcher@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: University of Central Missouri, Master’s Degree: Florida State University. Notable Accomplishments: Recipient of the John and Hallie Quinn Research Fellowship, Florida State University, Participated in the IFREE Graduate workshop, Chapman University, Two time Economics and Finance Star Achievement Award, University of Central Missouri, Economics representative for the interdisciplinary Lancy Summer Internship, University of Central Missouri. Teaching Interests: Microeconomics.

Mr. Jeff Hartle, Missouri Safety Center, Assistant Professor of Crisis and Disaster Management, hartle@ucmo.edu. A.A. at Eastern Kentucky University, Bachelor’s Degree: University of Cincinnati, Master’s Degree: Central Missouri State University. Teaching Interests: in the field of emergency management, Ienjoy teaching the theoriesexplainingtechnological, or man-made, disasters. I havestudied campground emergency preparedness in campgrounds in the United States and Canada.Within the field of emergency services management, I am interested in the safety and health of emergency responders, as well as the special problems faced by island and rural emergency services. I am also knowledgeable about business continuity planning and hazardous materials emergency response.

Dr. Darla Honn, School of Accountancy and Computer Information Systems, Assistant Professor of Accounting, dhonn@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: Central Missouri State University, PhD: Southern Illinois University. Notable Accomplishments: CPA. Teaching Interests: Financial Accounting. Projects: Various research projects involving cognitive effects of decision making and learning styles in the domain of accounting.

 

Dr. Ginger Killian, Marketing, Assistant Professor of Marketing, 660.543.8192, killian@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: University of Tennessee,  Master’s Degree: Tennessee Technological University. Notable Accomplishments: Innovator of the Year, Allstate, 2008. Teaching Interests: Digital Marketing, Marketing Strategy, Customer Relationship Management. Projects: I'm presently working with 3 other professors on a digital game that we will launch this fall. The game will be open to students and we will be examining how students use referral and recruitment in a game playing context. The game will incorporate social media (Twitter) and the TV show "The Voice". More details to come.

Dr. Ashley Wellman, Criminal Justice, Assistant Professor, awellman@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: University of North Florida, Master’s & PhD: University of Florida. Notable Accomplishments: Abisror Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student (2011), Outstanding Dissertation Award (2011), Instructor of the Year (2010 & 2011), Innovative Teaching Award (2010), UF Certificate in Forensic Death Investigation (2009). Teaching Interests: Violent Offending (Homicide), Violent Victimization, Qualitative Methods. Projects: Detailing the lived experiences of cold case homicide "survivors" (family members who are left behind after an unsolved murder). Perceptions of domestic violence victimization.

Ms. Jean Zimmer, Communication Disorders, 660-543-4993, zimmer@ucmo.edu

College of Health, Science, and Technology

Mr. Adam Caselman, School of Technology, 660-543-4727, caselman@ucmo.edu

Ms. Mary Danielle DeLozier, Nursing, 660-543-4770, mdelozier@ucmo.edu

Ms. Elizabeth Harrison, Department of Kinesiology, Instructor/Athletic Trainer, 660- 543-4662, eharrison@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: University of Central Missouri, Master’s Degree: Southern Illinois University. Teaching Interests: Anatomy, athletic training techniques.

Dr. Michael Israetel, Kinesiology, 660-543-4148, israetel@ucmo.edu

Dr. Katie Jacobs, Department of Psychological Science, Assistant Professor, 660-543-4817, jacobs@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: William Jewell College, Master’s Degree: University of Missouri. Teaching Interests: Abnormal Psychology, Child and Adolescent Development, Learning Theory.

Mr. Jason James, Computer Science, 660-543-4061, jejames@ucmo.edu

Ms. Linda G. Lengfellner, Safety Sciences, Instructor, 660-543-4412, lengfellner@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: University of Central Missouri. Notable Accomplishments: I have been teaching as an adjunct instructor for the past two years. Teaching Interests: Safety and biology. I am interested in how the principles studied in psychology and sociology affect safety issues.

Mr. Alexander Richards, Automotive Technology Management, Assistant Professor, (660)543-8415, arichards@ucmo.edu. Bachelor & Master’s Degrees: Southern Illinois University. Teaching Interests: Technical Instruction, Demonstration, Special Projects, Learner-Centric Teaching methods and practices.

Dr. Kelly Skinner, Nursing, 660-543-4775, kskinner@ucmo.edu

Ms. Pamela Tolmoff, Nursing, 660-543-4770, tolmoff@ucmo.edu

Dr. David Wade, Chemistry, 660-543-4948, dwade@ucmo.edu

Dr. Yong Wang,  EC CSC Operations, 660-543-4930, ywang@ucmo.edu

Dr. Chen Zhou, Biochemistry, Chemistry and Physics, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, (660) 543-4318, zhou@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Capital Medical University, Beijing, China, Doctorate: University of Texas at Dallas. Notable Accomplishments: Julia Williams Van Ness Merit Scholarship from The University of Texas at Dallas,Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad, ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Travel Award. Teaching Interests: Introductory Chemistry, General Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Materials Chemistry. Projects: Development of Luminescent Noble Metal Nanoparticles for Biological and Environmental Applications.

James C. Kirkpatrick Library

Ms. Diana Gladfelter, Academic Enrichment, Instructor, 660-543-8461, gladfelter@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Central Missouri State University, Master’s Degree: University of Central Missouri. Notable Accomplishments: published in The Urlar, recognized as Missouri State Teacher Association CT president, 2010, Coached Leeton High School Quiz Bowl Team to State competition (2008 - 2nd place), two Junior high school students won a writing competition which sent them to Washington, D. C. Teaching Interests: I enjoy teaching writing to students, encouraging them to succeed. I also love history, especially Victorian and Civil War.

Mr. Josh Welker, Kirkpatrick Library - Technical Services, Information Technology Librarian, 660-543-8022, welker@ucmo.edu. Bachelor’s Degree: Lindenwood University, Master’s Degree: University of Missouri. Teaching Interests: Web application development, game development.