Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content


UCM Department of Aviation
Learn about UCM's aviation courses at Whiteman Air Force Base.
Koko testimonial air fleet
Canaan Testimonial




Faculty in the Department of Aviation | Aviation degree | University of Central Missouri

Faculty and Staff

The aviation faculty and staff members at UCM represent a wide range of academic and professional training. All faculty hold terminal degrees in their areas of specialization and practices in the field.

 

Tony Monetti
Assistant Dean of Aviation and
Executive Director of Max B. Swisher Skyhaven Airport

Monetti brings a wealth of experience to UCM including having served as director of operations of the 13 Bomb Squadron, one of two operational B-2 stealth squadrons. He served as chief of safety directing U.S. Air Force 509th Bomb Wing safety and mishap prevention program, effecting more than 10,000 personnel, and has 24 years of jet flying experience, including commercial and military aircraft: 757, B-52, B-1, B-2, T-38 and T-37. He holds an Air Transport Pilot and Airframe and Powerplant Technician rating. Monetti is a seasoned international leader as Chairman of NATO Time Sensitive Targeting committee using diplomatic skills with senior leaders in industry, military and government. Monetti is a published author. He is an Air Force Academy graduate and holds two master's degrees.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 212



Phone: 660-543-8742
Cell: 660-441-8044

Email: tmonetti@ucmo.edu

Fred Schieszer
Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator

Prof. Schieszer comes to UCM with both military and civilian experience in aviation.  While in the military, he flew search and rescue missions in both fixed and rotary wing aircraft and participated in maritime law enforcement and humanitarian missions as a member of the United States Coast Guard.

In civilian aviation he worked as an aircraft accident investigator for many years and is nationally recognized as an accident investigation consultant and expert witness. During previous employment at UCM he established an “Aircraft Accident Investigation Laboratory” at Skyhaven Airport which set the standard for the Air Safety industry and was responsible for training nearly 20% of the current “General Aviation Air Safety Investigators” Most recently he helped start an aircraft manufacturing business which was the first to introduce electronic “capacitance discharge” high energy ignition systems in production aircraft.    Schieszer obtained the following degrees: Ed.S in Industrial Education, MS in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri and a BS in Pyschology and has been a licensed pilot since 1967.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210


Phone: 660-543-4975

Email: schieszer@ucmo.edu


John Horine
Professor Emeritus and
Graduate Program Coordinator

Teaching areas: Aviation Management, Air Transportation, Technical Report Writing, Development of Industrial Education. Research area: thesis consultant.; Horine serves as the program coordinator for students enrolled in the Aviation Safety graduate program.

Horine has his Ed.D. from the University of Missouri.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210

Phone: 660-543-4457

Email: horine@ucmo.edu

Dave Card
Chief Flight Instructor and Assistant Professor

Card has more than 30 years of experience in general aviation flight training and Part 135 Air Taxi operations. He started his aviation career as a crop duster and high-line patrol pilot in northern South Dakota. Prior to coming to the University of Central Missouri, he taught for 11 years at South Dakota State University as the lead flight instructor and worked as a charter pilot at a local FBO. Card is an FAA Designated Pilot Examiner and FAASTeam Representative.

Card has a Master of Science in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri.

Located in Hagar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4335

Email: card@ucmo.edu

Richard Martinez
Assistant Professor

Martinez has 33 years experience in the aviation industry, including 22 years as an aviation professor and 20 years as an assistant chief flight instructor. His experience in the field includes aviation management, aviation safety, aerodynamics, international aviation, aviation industry career development, curriculum development and ground school from Private Pilot to CFI. His responsibilities at UCM include student advisement, recruitment, retention, assessment and program development.

Martinez has a Master of Science in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri and a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Technology from California State University - Los Angeles. He is currently a doctoral candidate for Ed.D. in Education through Northcentral University.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210

Phone: 660-543-8092

Email: rmartinez@ucmo.edu

William (Bill) Runyon
Assistant Chief Flight Instructor

Runyon brings a passion for aviation education stretching across 26 years of teaching people to enjoy the joy of flying. He brings experience from teaching courses for Sport Aviation, Private Pilot Ground School and Commercial Pilot Ground School, and all flight classes leading to the attainment of a Certified Flight Instructor Certificate. He especially is engaged in promoting professionalism in aviation and his hobbies include glider flying and antique tail-wheel aircraft.

Runyon has a Bachelor of Science in Science and Religion from Mid-America Nazarene University and a Master of Science in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri.

Located in the Terminal Building at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4184

Email: brunyon@ucmo.edu

Darren Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

After serving for 17 years as an adjunct professor for a community college located at MacDill Air Force Base, Smith joined UCM in 2012. He has been an aviation safety counselor for 10 years and has presented safety seminars across the U.S. He has been an airline pilot and is a Gold Seal Instructor, with Master Flight Instructor and Master Ground Instructor designations. He has consulted on a variety of projects including airspace redesign, light sport aircraft certification and pilot training consultation for the military's Maverick UAV helicopter.

Education: B.A. Psychology, B.S. Nursing, M.S. Counseling Psychology, Ph.D. Educational Management

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210

Phone: 660-543-4878

Email: dasmith@ucmo.edu

Daniel Wong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Aviation

Daniel has over 30 years of varied experience in the aviation industry working in different roles including engineering, supply chain, marketing & sales, IT, flight operations, and senior management. He has worked with aircraft manufacturers as well as four different airlines in different regions of the world starting as an engineer with a tiny 2 aircraft fleet and progressing up to being a VP in one of the largest international airlines in the world. He and his teams have won multiple individual and team awards for new ideas and innovative projects. In engineering he has been a DE and has worked on aircraft structures, aircraft systems, aircraft interiors, aircraft performance, flight testing, configuration design, airport compatibility, and optimization of B777 and A380 ultra-long range flights.;

Daniel holds a BSc in Aeronautical Engineering Science, an MBA in Technology Engineering Management, and a PhD specializing in Innovation of Complex Products and Systems. He holds a Commercial Pilot’s License with ratings in ME/IR fixed wing, seaplane, helicopter, and gyroplane. He is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow member of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Location: T.R. Gains 210 G

Phone: (660) 543-8411

E-mail: dwong@ucmo.edu

Mary Shaw
Office Professional for the Department of Aviation

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210

Phone: 660-543-4969

Email: mshaw@ucmo.edu

Jonathan Ellis
Graduate Assistant

Jonathan obtained two Bachelor of Science degrees in Airport Management and Flight Operations Management at the University of Central Missouri in May 2013. He is currently working on his M.B.A in Ethical Strategic Leadership at UCM.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210

Phone: 660-543-4262

Email: jsellis@ucmo.edu

Scotti Holbert
Office Professional for Flight School

Among other duties, Holbert assists students with the necessary steps in obtaining additional financial aid for flight training and updates student accounts in ETA.

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4333
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: holbert@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Natalie Ballew
Business/Fiscal Coordinator

APT 108 Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-8217

E-mail: nballew @ucmo.edu

Nathan Mutzebaugh
Certified Flight Instructor/Director Safety

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Office: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: mutzebaugh@ucmo.edu

 

Johnathan Adams
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (573) 382-3567

E-mail: jeadams@ucmo.edu.

Bharat Bachani
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (913) 244-5339

E:mail: bachani@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Martin Baldacci
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (913) 940-1879

E-mail: balcacci@ucmo.edu

Denise Bruce
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (662) 701-7675

E-mail: dbruce@ucmo.edu

Garrett Brucker
Certified Flight Instructor

WAFB

Phone: 660-543-4464 or (913) 240-2852

E-mail: brucker@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Matthew Clark
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (816) 519-5375

E-mail: mclark@ucmo.edu

Sherry Eaves
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (660) 864-1176

E-mail: eaves@ucmo.edu

Matt Fischer
Instructor of Flight Operations

Phone: (660) 543-4921

E-mail: mfischer@ucmo.edu

Britain Hall
Certified Flight Instructor

JCKL 2234

Phone: 660-543-4140

E-mail: bhhall@ucmo.edu

Ryan Hoffman

Ryan Hoffman
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: rrhoffman@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Ben Kaminsky
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041
Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Email: kaminsky@ucmo.edu

Amanda May
Certified Flight Instructor of Flight Operations (Full Time)

Phone: Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-4921

E-mail: ammay@ucmo.edu

Matthew Michaud
Certified Flight Instructor

WAFB

Phone: (660) 909-2076

E-mail: michaud@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Jonathan Morgan
WAFB-Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (515) 557-0568

E-mail: jmorgan@ucmo.edu

Shawn Nault

Shawn Nault
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Office: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: nault@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Jacob Patt
Temporary Flight Instructor of Flight Operations

Phone: (660) 543-4921

E-mail: jpatt@ucmo.edu

 


Alex Reed

Alex Reed
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: alreed@ucmo.edu

Robert Seago
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: (816) 304-8050

E-mail: bseago1@gmail.com

Todd Shugart

Todd Shugart
Flight Scheduler

Located in Hargar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8381

Email: ucmfs@ucmo.edu or shugart@ucmo.edu

Toru Suda
Check Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: suda@ucmo.edu

Terry Sunnarborg
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: sunnarborg@ucmo.edu

Matt Vos
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

E-mail: mvos@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Scott Voskovitch
Certified Flight Instructor for ATP Students

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: svoskovitch@ucmo.edu

Brandon Williams

Brandon Williams
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: bcwilliams1@ucmo.edu

Paul Youmans
Certified Flight Instructor and Director of Training

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: youmans@ucmo.edu

Hiromi Naka

Hiromi Zummer
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: naka@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Mitchell Armstrong
Line Service Technician

Phone: (660) 543-4921or (417) 598-3303

E-mail: mla91990@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Cameron Duthoy
Line Service Technician

Phone: (660) 543-4921 or (239) 898-0613

E-mail: cjd59250@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Cody Griesenaur
Line Service Technician

Phone: (660) 543-4921 or (314) 616-5523

E-mail: csg07630@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Phil Morin
Line Service Technician

Phone: (660) 4921 or (660) 909-8723

E-mail: pdm75860@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Mathew Siebert
Line Service Technician

Phone: (660)543-4921 or (217) 415-3912

E-mail: mls87210@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Denis Godfrey
Coordinator of Airport Operations

Phone: (660) 543-4460

Location: Airport Terminal

E-mail: dgodfrey@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Johnny Rowlands
Owner of KC Copters

Phone: (913) 440-9499

(Photo Not Available)

Mesha Hennessey
Director of School Operations, KC Copters

Phone: (660) 624-2657

E-mail: hennessey@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Archie Hennessey
Chief Pilot, KC Copters

Phone: (660) 624- 2746

E-mail: archie @kccopters.com

(Photo Not Available)

Dave Meinhardt
Flight Instructor, KC Copters

(Photo Not Available)

Merrill Smith
Flight Instructor, KC Copters

Stephen Quick

Stephen Quick
Director of Aircraft Maintenance

Steve retired from the USAF after serving 20 years in aircraft maintenance on B-52, B-1B and the B-2 aircraft.After military retirement, he taught in the Aviation Department of UCM and was program coordinator for the FAR Part 147 AMT program.With over 13 years in aircraft manufacturing, he spent time with Cessna Aircraft, Hawker Beechcraft and Spirit Aerosystems in manufacturing engineering, Lean/Six Sigma and progressive roles of responsibility in manufacturing operations management.Steve earned a BS in Aviation Maintenance Management and MS in Aviation Safety from UCM.He is a certificated pilot and A&P with IA.As the UCM Director of Aircraft Maintenance, he is able to use leadership/management skills and experience to manage the fleet and maintenance team.

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-4003

E-mail: squick@ucmo.edu

Diana Barker

Diana Barker
Office Professional for Aircraft Maintenance

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: dbarker@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Jason Hafley
Mechanic I

Phone: (660) 543-4947

E-mail: jhafley@ucmo.edu

Troy Ewart

Troy Ewart
Aircraft Mechanic II

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: ewart@ucmo.edu

Terri Nieman

Terry Nieman
Aircraft Mechanic II

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: tlnieman@ucmo.edu

Scott Schroer

Scott Schroer
Aircraft Mechanic I

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: schroer@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Joseph Buery
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: jlb58690@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Trenton Crull
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: ttc91200@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Andrew Devries
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: amd51640@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Zoey Gnaedinger
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: zxg58460@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Marty Johnson
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: mlj22230@ucmo.edu