Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Department of Political Science

Wood Building 203
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660.543.8948
Email: Sandy Christ, Office Professional



Pi Sigma Alpha is the national political science honor society. It was founded in 1920 at the University of Texas with the purpose of "bringing together students and faculty interested in the study of government and politics." There are currently over 460 chapters nationwide. There is at least one chapter in every state, D.C. and as of 1995 the U.S. territory of Guam.

It is linked to 60 other sister honor societies through its membership in the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS). Pi Sigma Alpha is the third largest honor society within ACHS.

Every two years, representatives from Pi Sigma Alpha chapters across the country gather for a business meeting during the American Political Science Association's annual meeting. At this meeting, the national organization's officers and council members are elected.

Pi Sigma Alpha National Honor Society Requirements

According to the national organization's constitution, Members must have completed at least 10 hours credit within political science, completed at least one course in political science at the 3000 or 4000 level, achieved a GPA of 3.0 or higher within political science and have a cumulative GPA which places them within the top third of their class (usually a 3.0).

About Zeta Omicron (UCM's chapter)

The Zeta Omicron chapter was established in 1973 at the University of Central Missouri. Induction is conducted twice a year usually late in the fall and spring semesters. Interested students are encouraged to speak to one of the advisors – Dr. James Staab and Dr. Greg Streich