Open Calendar
Wide-angle shot of UCM's quad


Click to print this page

President's Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Charge and Membership


  • Contribute to and monitor initiatives related to diversity, equity and inclusion embedded in the UCM strategic  plan.
  • Take the lead role in conducting a campus climate survey/audit in coordination with the Office of the  President on a to-be-determined cycle (e.g., every 5-10 years).
  • Offer suggestions for recruitment and retention of a diverse workforce and student body and strategies for creating a stronger sense of belonging for individuals within these groups.
  • Propose to the president academic-related and non-academic programming topics which provide education around themes related to diversity, equity and inclusion, and which foster a stronger sense of community.
  • Provide insight into the structure of UCM policies and procedures that may create barriers for traditionally underrepresented groups.
  • Recommend updates to UCM web pages which communicate diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives.
  • Propose to the president potential changes to the Commission’s charge and/or membership structure.
  • On a fiscal year basis, provide an annual report to the president, that may be shared with university  constituencies, on actions and activities of the Commission.



Standing Members: 

  • Associate General Counsel (Accessibility Services) Serves as Chair of Commission
  • Director, Center for Multiculturalism and Inclusivity
  • Assoc. Vice President, Office of Human Resources 
  • President’s Council Designee 

Rotating Members (identified by/from the following): 

  • Staff Council (1)  
  • Faculty Senate (3) 
  • Student Government Association (1)  
  • Graduate Student Association (1)  
  • Bargaining Unit (1) 
  • Enrollment Management (1)  
  • Athletics (1) 
  • School Chairs Council (1) 
  • Office of the President (1) 

With the exception of students, rotating members are expected to serve terms of two years.  Students are appointed for one year but may be reappointed. Terms are on a  calendar year basis.


Current Membership

Member Area Status Term Ends
Cathy Seeley Accessibility Services Standing On-going
Lover Chancler Center for Multiculturism and Inclusivity Standing On-going
Susan Smedley President's Council Standing On-going
Alfonso Zarate Human Resources Standing On-going
Jay Hicks Staff Council Rotating Dec. 31, 2024
Keshav Bhattarai Faculty Senate Rotating Dec. 31 2023
Lane Maxcy Faculty Senate Rotating Dec. 31, 2024
Delia Gillis Faculty Senate Rotating Dec. 31, 2024
Hiba Lukadi Student Government Association Rotating Dec. 31, 2023
Alex Gamblin Graduate Student Association Rotating Dec. 31, 2023
Rory Watson Bargaining Unit Rotating Dec. 31, 2022
Kathy Anderson Athletics Rotating Dec. 31, 2024
Kris Howard Enrollment Management Rotating Dec. 31, 2023
Prasad Rudramuniyaiah School Chairs Council Rotating Dec. 31, 2024
Jay Steinkruger Office of the President Appointment, Co-Chair Rotating Dec. 31, 2023
Ann McCoy Office of the President Appointment, Co-Chair Rotating Dec. 31, 2024



  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram