Program Hero Image

Breadcrumb

School of Teaching and Learning

Make a Difference in Children’s Lives

The School of Teaching and Learning at the University of Central Missouri prepares you to make a difference in the lives of children. You’ll learn how to provide instruction that effectively meet the needs of students from diverse backgrounds with unique learning strengths and needs. You’ll learn how to use technology to enhance teaching and learning, and you’ll become a UCM educator—a competent, caring, reflective practitioner committed to the premise that all can learn.

 

Programs

Undergraduate

Majors

Graduate

School Faculty

Early Childhood Education

Dr. Karen Loman Assistant Professor Lov 3184 660-543-8701 loman@ucmo.edu
Ms. Lea Porta Instructor Lov 3360 660-543-4235 porta@ucmo.edu
Dr. Karrie Snider Assistant Professor Lov 3340 660-543-8658 snider@ucmo.edu
Dr. Natalie Tye* Assistant Professor Lov 3182 660-543-4787 ntye@ucmo.edu
Dr. Carla Williams Assistant Professor Lov 3330 660-543-8725 cwilliams@ucmo.edu

* Program Coordinator

Elementary Education

Mrs. Meredith Beggs Instructor Lov 3370 660-543-8673 mbeggs@ucmo.edu
Dr. Angela Danley Associate Professor Lov 3183 660-543-8657 danley@ucmo.edu
Mrs. Susan Diekmann Instructor Lov 3186 660-543-8725 diekmann@ucmo.edu
Mrs. Libby Dierking Instructor Lov 3187 660-543-8414 dierking@ucmo.edu
Mrs. Carol Dunn Instructor Lov 3134 660-543-4235 dunn@ucmo.edu
Ms. Donna Fizer Instructor Lov 3360 660-543-4235 dfizer@ucmo.edu
Mrs. Angela Gilbert Instructor Lov 3188 660-543-4235 agilbert@ucmo.edu
Mrs. Linda Glasgow Instructor Lov 3136 660-543-4235 glasgow@ucmo.edu
Dr. Julie Hentges* Professor Lov 3185 660-543-8659 hentges@ucmo.edu
Dr. Kristina Schuler Assistant Professor Lov 3340 660-543-4235 kschuler@ucmo.edu
Mrs. Lesi Smart Instructor Lov 3181 660-543-8923 smart@ucmo.edu

* Program Coordinator

Educational Foundations

Mrs. Chalice Jeffries Instructor Lov 2208 660-543-4150 cjeffries@ucmo.edu
Dr. Mark Lee* Assistant Professor Lov 2100 C 660-543-8278 jmlee@ucmo.edu
Mr. Gregg Montgomery Assistant Professor Lov 2100 A 660-543-8246 gmontgomery@ucmo.edu

* Program Coordinator

Literacy Education

Dr. Phillis Aaberg Assistant Professor Lov 3020 660-543-8352 paaberg@ucmo.edu
Dr. Michelle Amos Assistant Professor Lov 2136 660-543-4997 mamos@ucmo.edu
Dr. Dawna Lisa Butterfield Professor Lov 2134 660-543-8641 buchanan@ucmo.edu
Ms. Morgan Ely Instructor Lov 2131 660-543-4575 constant@ucmo.edu
Dr. Daniel Gilhooly Assistant Professor Lov 2137 660-543-4285 gilhooly@ucmo.edu
Dr. Matt Thomas* Professor Lov 2133 660-543-8729 mthomas@ucmo.edu

* Program Coordinator

Master of Arts in Teaching

Dr. Charlene Atkins* Assistant Chair Lov 2135 660-543-8586 catkins@ucmo.edu
Dr. Terrell Brown Associate Professor Lov 3030 660-543-8466 tbrown@ucmo.edu
Dr. Yuankun Yao Professor Lov 3132 660-543-4748 yyao@ucmo.edu
* Program Coordinator

Middle School Education

Dr. Joanie Hartnett* Associate Professor Lov 2100 B 660-543-8273 mhartnett@ucmo.edu
Ms. Christi Richardson Instructor Lov 2100 D 660-543-8387 chrichardson@ucmo.edu
* Program Coordinator

Physical Education

Dr. Kenneth Bias* Professor NM 101 660-543-4256 bias@ucmo.edu
Dr. Dennis Docheff Professor MOR 130 660-543-4146 docheff@ucmo.edu
Dr. Brandy Lynch Assistant Professor MOR 134 660-543-4256 brlynch@ucmo.edu
Dr. Brad Mears Professor MOR 128 660-543-8189 mears@ucmo.edu
* Program Coordinator

Special Education

Dr. Theresa Earles-Vollrath Professor Lov 4134 660-543-8702 vollrath@ucmo.edu
Ms. Lana Hopping Instructor Lov 4132 660-429-2944 hopping@ucmo.edu
Dr. Jerry Neal Professor Lov 4136 660-543-8497 jneal@ucmo.edu
Dr. Kaye Otten Adjunct Lov 4132 660-543-8705 otten@ucmo.edu
Dr. Lisa Robbins* Associate Professor Lov 4138 660-543-8756 larobbins@ucmo.edu
* Program Coordinator

THRIVE Program

Through the THRIVE Program, the University of Central Missouri prepares students with disabilities to transition to independent living and find employment that fits their individual goals and abilities. During the two-year program, students are required to live on the UCM campus. They work on improving their academic abilities and peer interactions while learning computer and job skills. They also participate in career-focused internships. THRIVE graduates earn a Certificate of Success along with a personal portfolio. Some students may go on to earn a degree at UCM with the proper student support services in place for their success.

For more information, please visit the THRIVE Program's main page.

 

Accreditations

CAEP Logo

UCM is the longest continuously CAEP accredited public institution in Missouri

NBEA Logo

The Business Education program is endorsed by the National Business Education Association

ITEEA Logo

The Engineering and Technology Teacher Education program is the only university in Missouri recognized by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association

ILA Logo

The Literacy program is nationally recognized by the International Literacy Association and is based on the ILA Standard for Reading Professionals

NCTM Logo

 The Mathematics Education program is accredited by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

AMLE Logo

The Middle School Education program has been nationally recognized by the Association of Middle Level Education

NSTA Logo

The Science Education programs are recognized by National Association of Science Teachers

NCSS Logo

The Social Studies Education program is nationally accredited by the National Council for the Social Studies

CEC Logo

The Special Education program is nationally recognized by the Council for Exceptional Children, the leading advocacy organization for special education in the country.

NAST Logo

The Speech Communication and Theatre Education program is nationally accredited by the National Association for Schools of Theatre

 

testimonial

"I really enjoyed the block class format. It introduced me to the teaching profession and got me into the classroom right away. The faculty are very welcoming, supportive, and willing to answer all of my questions. They definitely want to see me succeed and apply classroom lessons to field work."

NATASHA B., '20, ELEMENTARY EDUCATION

Contact

Ann McCoy
Chair
Lovinger 3155
Tel: (660) 543-4235

 

Contact

Julie Batusic
Office Professional IV
Lovinger 3155
Tel: 660-543-4235

slides

social-section

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram