Breadcrumb

Click to print this page

Secondary Education

Experiential Learning Throughout Your Program

The Secondary Education program at UCM will prepare you to teach students in grades 9-12. Some content areas can also prepare you for K-12. 

All Secondary Education majors experience hands on learning through a series of field experiences before finishing their program with a student teaching semester. This practice of getting you in the classroom early on and throughout your program will help you develop personally and professionally as you gain real world practice with today's students. All of the Secondary Education program faculty are experienced educators who will guide you as you apply your coursework in the field.

With a time tested, honored reputation for preparing some of the finest teachers in the classroom today, according to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), UCM's teacher education program prepares students to be competent, caring, reflective teachers committed to the premise that all can learn.

Content Area Specialization

When you become a Secondary Education major, you will choose a specialization from one of several content areas. Faculty from your content area become advisors and mentors as you work through your program.

Involvement Opportunities

You will have multiple opportunities to become involved on campus and in your field:

  • Kappa Delta Pi
  • Phi Kappa Phi
  • Student Missouri State Teachers Association
  • Content specific student organizations

Scholarships

In addition to more than $4 million in merit-based scholarships and awards presented annually to UCM students by the university, the College of Education offers a number of awards specifically for education majors. There are multiple scholarships for which Secondary Education students are eligible. There are also several content specific scholarships for which Secondary Education students may apply. Work with your faculty advisor to find out which scholarships are available for your content.

Meet Our Content Area Lead Faculty

Agriculture Teacher Education

Business Teacher Education

Engineering and Technology Teacher Education

Family Consumer Sciences Teacher Education

Biology Teacher Education

Chemistry Teacher Education

Earth Science Teacher Education

Physics Teacher Education

School of Professional Education and Leadership School of Natural Sciences

Mrs. Krystle Gremaud
Lovinger 4104
kgremaud@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4647

Mr. Michael Elliott
Grinstead 212
melliott@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4458

Dr. Mo Ahmadibasir (Basir)
WC Morris 116 M
ahmadibasir@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-8853

 

 

 

   

English Teacher Education

Mathematics Teacher Education

School of English and Philosophy School of Computer Science and Mathematics

Dr. Russell Greinke
Martin 336 B
greinke@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4426

Dr. Aimee Myers
Martin 336 Q
acmyers@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4568

Dr. Bill McGalliard (Program Coordinator)
WC Morris 123
mcgalliard@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-8766

Dr. David Ewing (Lead Faculty)
WC Morris 117
ewing@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-8710

   

Social Studies Teacher Education

Speech Communication and Theatre Teacher Education

School of Social Sciences and Languages School of Visual and Performing Arts

Dr. Star Nance
Wood 124
nance@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4404

 

 

 

Dr. Julie Mollenkamp
Martin 116 B
mollenkamp@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4020

Dr. Nicole Freeman
Martin 136
nfreeman@ucmo.edu
(660) 543-4858

 

Chair

Ann McCoy
Lovinger 3155
Tel: (660) 543-4235

 

social-section

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram