students walking in hall of W. C. Morris

Contact

Dr. Xiaodong Yue
Professor and Chair
W.C. Morris 222C
Tel: (660) 543-4930

Breadcrumb

School of Computer Science and Mathematics

The School of Computer Science and Mathematics prepares students for a variety of exciting careers.

Welcome to the School of Computer Science and Mathematics at the University of Central Missouri. As you explore the information about our programs, curriculum, faculty and student organizations, you'll discover a strong, diverse, and student-oriented academic community. The faculty are highly qualified and dedicated. Most hold a terminal degree in their field, and are active in their professions either through research and/or continuing professional development.

Career-Focused Programs

UCM’s Computer Science and Mathematics programs have a balance of practice and theory and are designed according to curricula guidelines from corresponding professional organizations. With the demand for qualified technical personnel far exceeding the available supply, the opportunities awaiting our graduates are nearly limitless.

 

About the School

Faculty and Staff


Actuarial Science and Statistics
Name Title Contact
Dr. Phoebe McLaughlin Professor, Assistant Chair Phone: 660-543-8931
Office: WCM 227
Eamil: pmclaughlin@ucmo.edu
Dr. Paul Plummer Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-4433
Office: WCM 206B
Eamil: pplummer@ucmo.edu
Dr. Lianwen Wang Professor Phone: 660-543-8870
Office: WCM 205B
Eamil: lwang@ucmo.edu
Dr. Daoping Yu Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8453
Office: WCM 125
Eamil: dyu@ucmo.edu

Computer Science and Software Engineering
Name Title Contact
Belinda Copus Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator Phone: 660-543-4354
Office: WCM 206C
Eamil: copus@ucmo.edu
Dr. Fei Cao Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8839
Office: WCM 205A
Email: fcao@ucmo.edu
Dr. Hang Chen Professor Phone: 660-543-8907
Office: WCM 205C
Email: hchen@ucmo.edu
Dr. Mark Grebe Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8846
Office: WCM 213
Eamil: grebe@ucmo.edu
Jason James Instructor Phone: 660-543-8690
Office: WCM 113
Email: jejames@ucmo.edu
Dr. Taeghyun Kang Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8896
Office: WCM 219
Email: tkang@ucmo.edu
Dr. Yui Man Lui Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8721
Office: WCM 119
Email: lui@ucmo.edu
Ikhyun Park Instructor Phone: 660-543-8907
Office: WCM 221
Email: ipark@ucmo.edu
Dr. Ahmad Rawashdeh Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-6611
Office: CSC B161
Email: arawashdeh@ucmo.edu
Dr. Mohammad Rawashdeh Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-6613
Office: CSC D158
Email: rawashdeh@ucmo.edu
Dr. Sunae Shin Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-6612
Office: CSC D159
Email: sshin@ucmo.edu
Dr. Sumi Singh Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-4386
Office: WCM 115
Email: ssingh@ucmo.edu
Dr. Songlin Tian Professor Phone: 660-543-8884
Office: WCM 215
Email: tian@ucmo.edu
Dr. Jun Wang Professor Phone: 660-543-6616
Office: CSC D256
Email: jwang@ucmo.edu
Dr. Mahmoud Yousef Professor, Assistant Chair Phone: 660-543-8892
Office: WCM 217
Email:  yousef@ucmo.edu
Dr. Xiaodong Yue Professor, Chair Phone: 660-543-4930
Office: WCM 222C 
Email: yue@ucmo.edu
Cybersecurity
Name Title Contact
Dr. Hyungbae Park Assistant Professor, GCFE, Program Coordinator Phone: 660-543-8907
Office: WCM 221
Email: ipark@ucmo.edu
Dr. Dabin Ding Assistant Professor, GSEC, GSSP-JAVA Phone: 660-543-8865
Office: WCM 211
Email: dding@ucmo.edu
Dr. Taiabul Haque Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-4766
Office: WCM 116X
Email: haque@ucmo.edu
Dr. Anshuman Singh Assistant Professor, CISSP, GPEN Phone: 660-543-8858
Office: WCM 205D
Email: singh@ucmo.edu
Mathematics
Name Title Contact
Dr. Rhonda McKee Professor, Program Coordinator Phone: 660-543-8929
Office: WCM 225
Eamil: mckee@ucmo.edu
Caitlyn Cassity Instructor Phone: 660-543-4665
Office: WCM 116H
Eamil: cassity@ucmo.edu
Xiaofei Chang Instructor Phone: 660-543-4507
Office: WCM 116F
Eamil: xchang@ucmo.edu
Dr. Phoebe McLaughlin Professor Phone: 660-543-8931
Office: WCM 227
Eamil: pmclaughlin@ucmo.edu
Dr. Vojislav Petrovic Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-4703
Office: WCM 118B
Eamil: petrovic@ucmo.edu
Jacob Roach Instructor Phone: 660-543-4514
Office: WCM 116R
Eamil: jroach@ucmo.edu
Steve Shattuck Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8763
Office: WCM 121
Eamil: sshattuck@ucmo.edu
Dr. Lianwen Wang Professor Phone: 660-543-8870
Office: WCM 205B
Eamil: lwang@ucmo.edu
Dr. Daoping Yu Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8453
Office: WCM 125
Eamil: dyu@ucmo.edu
Mathematics Education
Name Title Contact
Dr. William McGalliard Associate Professor, Program Coordinator Phone: 660-543-8766
Office: WCM 123
Eamil: mcgalliard@ucmo.edu
Dr. Natalia Bailey Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-4434
Office: WCM 118C
Eamil: nbailey@ucmo.edu
Carla Beeman Instructor Phone: 660-543-8824
Office: WCM 118E
Eamil: beeman@ucmo.edu
Dr. David Ewing Associate Professor Phone: 660-543-8710
Office: WCM 117
Eamil: ewing@ucmo.edu
Beth Hancock Instructor Phone: 660-543-4955
Office: WCM 118F
Eamil: ehancock@ucmo.edu
Dr. Vida Olivares Assistant Professor Phone: 660-543-8800
Office: WCM 127
Eamil: olivares@ucmo.edu
Main Office
Name Title Contact
Dede Beneke Accountant Phone: 660-543-4765
Office: G 009G 
Email: dbeneke@ucmo.edu
Taylor Kinde Academic Coordinator Phone: 660-543-8193
Office: WCM 116E
Email: kinde@ucmo.edu
Becky White Office Professional Phone: 660-543-4930
Office: WCM 222
Email: bwhite@ucmo.edu

Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs

Departmental Scholarships

A growing number of endowed scholarships are awarded each year to the School of Computer Science and Mathematics majors and minors.  The application deadline is usually March 1 of each year. Apply online at https://ucmo.edu/mocents.

For Entering Freshman

Scholarship Name

Minimum Criteria for Eligibility

Department Achievement Award
1. major in one of the school majors
2. ACT >= 23
3. high school GPA 3.5 or higher

Harmon

1. major in Computer Science or Electronics (preference given to double major)
2. completed 3 units of mathematics and or computer science in high school
3. ACT >= 23
4. Missouri resident

Kennedy

1. declare a major in the department
2. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

Stumpff

1. declare a Mathematics Education major
2. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

 

For Current Students

Scholarship Name

Minimum Criteria for Eligibility

ACM

1. major in Computer Science
2. ACM member
3. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

Atkins

1. graduate student at UCM
2. preference given to Mathematics Education

Birkhead

1. pursue certificate to teach mathematics at middle school/junior high school

Brown

1. second/third year at UCM
2. major in mathematics
3. GPA >=3.5 (mathematics courses), GPA >= 3.3 (all course)
4. show promise in pursuing post-graduate study
5. demonstrate financial need

Craven

1. major in Actuarial Science
Department Achievement Award
1. major in one of the school majors
2. GPA >=3.2

Griffith

1. major in Computer Science
2. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

Harmon

1. major in Computer Science or Electronics (preference given to double major)
2. GPA >= 3.0
3. Missouri resident

Johnson

1. mathematics minor which leads to certification to teach mathematics in grades 5-9
2. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

Meyer

1. admitted in a graduate degree program (emphasis in elementary, junior high, or secondary mathematics)
2. GPA >= 3.0 (upper level mathematics courses)
3. GPA >= 3.25 (graduate mathematics courses if applicable)

Moore

1. major in the department
2. junior or senior class
3. GPA >= 3.0 in the major
4. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

Ramey

1. major in Mathematics Education (secondary mathematics) or minor in Mathematics Education
2. enroll in at least 12 s.h. each semester at UCM

Redford

1. major in Computer Science or Mathematics (excluding Actuarial Science and Mathematics Education)
2. US citizen and Missouri resident
3. completed at least one semester after declaring major
4. at least have two semesters before graduation
5. member of KME
6. GPA >= 3.5 (mathematics courses), GPA >= 3.0 (all courses)

Schrag

1. major in the department
2. member of KME

 

Student Organizations

The school sponsors several student organizations. They provide our students with platforms of peer interaction and active participation in out-of-the-classroom experiences. 

Actuarial Science and Statistics 

The Actuarial Organization

UCM - Statistics Club 

Computer Science and Software Engineering 

Association for Computing Machinery 

Upsilon Pi Epsilon 

Cybersecurity 

Cyber Mules, chapter of the National Cybersecurity Student Association 

Mathematics 

Kappa Mu Epsilon

MAA Student Chapter 

Mathematics Education 

Central Missouri Mathematics Educators (CMME)

Departmental Facilities

The School has state-of-the-art computing labs to support both instruction and research needs. The main lab for computer science classes consists of 40 Dell computers running both Linux and Microsoft windows operating systems. Six computer classrooms, with more than 30 computers each, are ideal for upper classes and special lab sessions. Lab computers are upgraded regularly. The School strives to provide our students with the latest technologies. We offer both Windows and Linux platforms so that our students are well-prepared for a career as a software professional under those two leading industry-standard platforms. The School is a member of the Microsoft Imagine, Oracle Academy and VMWare Academic Program. 

All mathematics and statistics classrooms are multimedia classrooms, allowing instructors to use a variety of teaching tools and techniques. Distance learning rooms, used for graduate courses in mathematics and statistics, are outfitted with microphones and cameras so that students can attend class virtually. Computers in a dedicated statistics classroom run statistical software including r and SAS. Two student common areas provide a space for students to collaborate on homework and projects, as well as relax between classes. These rooms are conveniently located near faculty offices to help establish a community of learners.

 

Program Accreditation and Recognition

ABET Accreditation Logo

The B.S. in Computer Science - Computer Science Option is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

ABET Logo

The B.S. in Cybersecurity program is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

CAEP Accreditation Logo

The undergraduate mathematics education program is accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

SOA Logo

The B.S. in Actuarial Science program is recognized by the Society of Actuaries and listed as an Undergraduate-Advanced program on the SOA website. UCM is one of approximately 60 universities in the United States to be in this top classification.

social-section

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram