Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


KMOS-TV Earns National Recognition for Kids Day Event

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (Nov. 27, 2012) –  KMOS-TV, the University of Central Missouri’s public broadcasting station, was one of 20 broadcasters from across the nation to receive national recognition for excellence in its community engagement programming from the National Educational Telecommunications Association at the group’s annual conference in St. Louis.

The station was recognized for community engagement based on a local project and promotion of a special event for bringing the annual KMOS-TV Kids Day to rural central Missouri. The 10th annual Kids Day in Columbia on May 14, 2011, was the largest event on record. Since KMOS-TV started the program, attendance has grown from 300 to this year’s attendance of more than 6,500. Thirty sponsors provided nearly $15,000 in cash and more than $42,000 in in-kind donations to make the 2011 Kids Day possible.

Judges noted that fact that KMOS-TV has traveled to different communities to present Kids Day during the past 10 years, providing outreach to families in often underserved areas. They also commended the KMOS-TV outreach staff for its success in engaging partners throughout the KMOS-TV service area for significant support of the Kids Day program.

“The original intent of KMOS Kids Day was to establish closer ties with the many communities reached by KMOS-TV and to provide young families with tools to engage in hands-on learning with their children in the home,” said Rosemary Olas, UCM’s interim director of broadcasting services. “The unanticipated bonus for us has been getting to know and partner with the amazing residents of central Missouri. They made KMOS Kids Day a success. It’s especially gratifying to be recognized by our peers in the public media community for this project.”

KMOS Staff and NETA Award for Kids Day
Members of the KMOS-TV staff celebrating the NETA Award for excellence in Community in Engagement Programming are, front row, left toright, Josh Tomlinson, Dorothy McGrath, Sarah Bailey and Nellie deLaurier; second row, Mark Pearce, Louise Beasley, Sandy Kelley, Rosemary Olas, Mary Clevenger, Duard Swope; third row, Michael O'Keefe, Bryon Johnson, Kit Peters, Karen O'Keefe and John Long.