Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Eck Receives Nelson Award for Debut Work of Fiction

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (Sept. 25, 2008) - Matthew Eck, assistant professor of creative writing at UCM, has been named a recipient of the William Rockhill Nelson Award for his debut novel, The Farther Shore.

Matthew Eck
Matthew Eck

Annual Award Recognized Excellence Among Area Writers

 The William Rockhill Nelson Awards were instituted in 2003 by The Writers Place and The Kansas City Star to recognize state and national literary achievements of authors in Kansas and Missouri. The awards, which are presented annually for achievement in fiction, nonfiction and poetry, were named after the newspaper’s founder, who not only shaped the future of the city’s major daily newspaper but also influenced Kansas City’s civic development in numerous ways.

Celebration Planned in Kansas City

Eck will receive the award during a ceremony planned for 2 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 5, at the Raglan Road Irish Pub, 170 E. 14th St., in Kansas City’s Power and Light District. He will be joined by Diane Glancy, recipient of the award for poetry for Asylum in the Grasslands, and Milton S. Katz for his nonfiction work, Breaking Through.

A Humbling Experience

Eck is a member of the faculty in the UCM Department of English and Philosophy. He earned a bachelor’s degree in English Literature from Wichita State University and a master’s degree from the University of Montana. He has taught at the University of Montana, the University of Missouri-Kansas City and the Kansas City Art Institute.

“This award is a huge honor,” Eck said. “There are some great writers on the list of recipients for the William Rockhill Nelson Award. It is always nice to be acknowledged by your peers. As with most awards, it is a humbling experience.”

Third UCM Faculty Member to Receive Award

Eck is the third UCM faculty member to receive the award. Kevin Prufer, professor of English, and Wayne Miller, associate professor of English, are past recipient of the award for their works in poetry.