Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Hogue Assumes Presidency of North American Association of Summer Sessions

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (Jan. 30, 2015) – Laurel Hogue, director of Extended Studies at the University of Central Missouri, is serving a one year term as president of the North American Association of Summer Sessions. She was elected in 2013 as president-elect and assumed the presidency in November 2014 at the annual conference held in Chattanooga, Tenn.

L Hogue
Laurel Hogue

Hogue has been actively engaged in both NAASS and the North Central Conference on Summer Sessions since 2003, presenting and facilitating sessions for both groups. In 2012 she was elected vice president of the NAASS North Central region and served as an active member of the Creative and Innovative Awards Committee, which she chaired in 2013. Hogue is a past president of the North Central Conference on Summer Sessions.

Hogue earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in business administration from UCM and currently is a doctoral candidate in educational leadership and policy analysis at the University of Missouri. At UCM she served as the assistant director for Extended Campus and Summer Studies from 2003 to 2012, and currently serves as the director of Extended Studies and interim director of the International Center.

Founded in 1964, NAASS is an association of deans and directors of college and university summer programs located throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Its mission is to develop quality summer programming and academic standards, freely exchange ideas and information among the membership and present the opportunity for stimulation and professional growth.  The members are dedicated to providing students high quality extended learning opportunities over the summer.

The governing body of NAASS, the Administrative Council, consists of the President, the President-Elect, the Treasurer; the regional vice president from each of its geographical regions; three at-large members; and the immediate past-president.