Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Performing Arts Series Presents the Athens Saxophone Quartet in Concert

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (Oct. 30, 2015) – The Performing Arts Series and the Department of Music at the University of Central Missouri present the Athens Saxophone Quartet in concert at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 8, in Hart Recital Hall.

Athens Saxophone Quartet
The Athens Saxophone Quartet

The concert program will feature a variety of selections by living Greek and Greek-American composers, as well as a composition by Eric Honour, UCM professor of music, and a new selection by Craig Weston, a member of the Kansas State University music faculty.

Founded by Athanasios Zervas in 1997, the Athens Saxophone Quartet is considered one of the finest chamber music ensembles of Greece.  The ASQ's members are virtuoso saxophonists, as well as accomplished composers, theorists, and teachers in universities and colleges. The group has made frequent appearances internationally in music festivals and concert halls, and has premiered more than 100 compositions.

Although the repertoire of the ASQ is comprised of works of different eras and styles, the majority of it is music composed after 1945. The ASQ directly reflects the stylistic characteristics of the compositions, and, most of all, is very flexible, adapting to various idiomatic and extended techniques.

In addition to the public performance, the ASQ will remain on campus throughout the week, conducting master classes for musicians in UCM’s Department of Music and area school instrumental music programs.

 Tickets for Athens Saxophone Quartet concert are $3 for students and $7 for adults and are available online at and one hour prior to show time at Hart Recital Hall.

This concert is part of PAS Guest Artist Series, with financial assistance provided by the Missouri Arts Council, a state agency.