Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943

"Pleiades" Earns Prestigious Pushcart Prize

"Pleiades" Earns Prestigious Pushcart Prize

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG - 5/09/2006 - For the fourth time in six years, work published in "Pleiades: A Journal of New Writing" has been selected for the prestigious Pushcart Prize anthology, a collection of the best literary writing published by independent presses in North America.

"Pleiades," a nationally distributed literary magazine centered at University of Central Missouri, publishes poetry, fiction, essays, and reviews by writers from around the world.

Winning Essay Offers Satirical View

The winning essay, "Vexing Praxis/Hocus Nexus," by Mark Halliday, appeared in "Pleiades" volume 25, number 2, and offers a highly satirical look at current trends in post-modern poetry publishing and aesthetics.

Also Earned Additional Honors

Previous to winning the Pushcart Prize, the essay was also selected as the Essay of the Month on "Poetry Daily," a popular web site that covers news of the poetry world, and also earned a strong response from readers from as far away as London and India.

Author of Four Collections

Halliday is the author of four collections of poetry: "Little Star" (William Morrow Press, 1987, winner of the National Poetry Series), "Tasker Street" (University of Massachusetts Press, 1992), "Selfwolf" (University of Chicago Press, 1999) and "Jab" (University of Chicago Press, 2002). He is also a frequent contributor of essays to "Pleiades." His next essay, "Good Friend, Sit Down," will appear in the summer 2006 issue.

"Pleiades" Considered Leading Literary Magazine

In addition to four Pushcart Prizes, works from "Pleiades" have been selected for the Best American Poetry anthology annually since 2001 and is considered one of the leading literary magazines published in the United States. Recent and forthcoming issues include new work by winners of the Nobel Prize, the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, and the National Book Critics Circle Award.