Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Thomson Recipient of 2010 Excellence in Governance Award

Contact Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (April 27, 2010) –Rep. Mike Thomson, Republican representative from the 4th House District from Maryville, recently was honored for his commitment to Missourians and his role in state government with the University of Central Missouri’s Student Government Association’s 2010 James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award.

Kaitlyn Roach, president of the UCM Student Government Association, and Richard Morrell, UCM vice president for student affairs, presented Kingery with the award during the April 23 ceremony in the James C. Kirkpatrick Library on the UCM campus.

SGA Excellence in Governance Award 2010

Rep. Mike Thomson, second from right, recently received the James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award from the University of Central Missouri Student Government Association during a ceremony in the James C. Kirkpatrick Library at UCM. Presenting the award were, left to right, Darren Doherty, past president of the UCM SGA; Tyler Laughlin, SGA vice president; Mrs. James C. Kirkpatrick; and Kaitlyn Roach, SGA president.

In accepting the award, Thomson noted although he had not had the opportunity to meet Kirkpatrick, he admired his legacy of service to the people of Missouri.

“Politicians should be leaders, and being a legislator is a commitment to public service,” Thomson said. “Missouri is blessed with good legislators, and they have put the state in good shape. As Missourians, we face challenges ahead, but we will get through because we are not afraid to make the tough decisions. In accepting this award, I acknowledge the accomplishments those who had received it before me, and I hope to live up to the legacy of James C. Kirkpatrick.”

Elected to the House in November 2007, Rep. Thomson represents Atchison, Nodaway, and Holt counties, and a portion of Worth County. He currently chairs the House Education Appropriations Committee and serves as vice-chairman of the Higher Education committee. He also serves on the Budget, Agri-Business, and Elementary and Secondary Education committees.

A career educator, Rep. Thomson is a native of Craig, Mo. He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from Northwest Missouri State University. During his career in education, he served as a teacher, counselor, coach and administrator in public secondary education in Missouri prior to joining the faculty of Northwest Missouri State University in 1998. While at Northwest, he taught in the Department Psychology, Sociology and Counseling and worked in admissions before running for the House seat vacated by Brad Lager.

Thomson is a member of the Missouri State Teachers Association, Missouri Retired Teachers Association, the Missouri School Counselors Association and the Maryville Optimist Club. His professional honors include Missouri Secondary Counselor of the Year, Northwest Missouri District Counselor of the Year, Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers, Maryville High School Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Midland Empire Basketball Coach of the Year, and Northwest District Industrial Arts Teacher of the Year.

Since his election to the legislature, Thomson has received the 2007 Voice of Missouri Business Award from the Associated Industries of Missouri; the 2008 Friend of Corn Growers Award; the 2008 Friend of Agriculture Award from the Missouri Farm Bureau; the 2008 Ed Ailor Memorial Award from the Missouri School Counselor Association; the 2008-2009 Friend of Education Award from the Missouri K-8 Schools Association; the 2009 Legislator of the Year Award from the Missouri Association of Career and Technical Education; and the 2009 Distinguished Legislator Award from the Missouri Community College Association.

Since 1986, the SGA has presented the Excellence in Governance award to individuals who have significantly contributed to excellent government. The SGA Internal Issues Committee selects the recipient from nominees who promote good governmental procedures, efficiency and economy in government, and policies that are in the public’s best interest.

The award is named for the late James C. Kirkpatrick, the UCM alumnus who served 20 years as Missouri's Secretary of State. Past recipients of the award include Gov. Mel Carnahan, Gov. Matt Blunt, State Representative Deleta Williams, Sen. Claire McCaskill, Gov. Jay Nixon, Secretary of State Robin Carnahan and State Senator David Pearce.