Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943

Tickets Available for Department of Theatre Dance Production

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (March 3, 2011)- The University of Central Missouri Department of Theatre will present "Rise to the Rhythm," an evening of contemporary dance styles and original choreography, at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday March 11-12 in the Highlander Theatre. Admission is $5.

Tickets are available at the Highlander Theatre box office Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-3 p.m. beginning March 7. Admission is $5. Tickets may be reserved by calling the box office at 660-543-8811, or are available at the door. Children under the age of five will not be admitted.

Ashley Miller, assistant professor of theatre, is the artistic director. "Rise to the Rhythm" features the work of faculty, students, and a guest choreographer in 10 imaginative pieces, including a swing inspired jazz piece, “Swing It,” and a modern piece, “Just a Trace,” by guest artist, Stephanie Kobes.

Kobes received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Iowa State University and a Master of Fine Arts degree in Dance from the University of Colorado at Boulder. She choreographed the memory inspired piece “Just a Trace” for the concert. Kobes works as a teacher and freelance dance choreographer in Denver, Colo. Funding for Kobes' appearance is provided by the Meridith Harmon Sauer Guest Artist Series.

For "Rise to the Rhythm," Miller choreographed four pieces and will perform in “Just a Trace.” Five student-choreographed pieces by Diallo Simms, Miranda Powers, Annie Beile, Kalob Cunningham, and Kinsey Parker explore various styles of dance including modern, tap and hip-hop. Live instrumental and vocal music is provided by students Ben Wendt and Callie Vandergrift for the piece “Catharsis.”

"Rise to the Rhythm" showcases an ensemble of nearly 20 dancers, including Annie Beile, Jarrod Best, Pancha Brown, Devin Burns, Kelly Comstock, Kalob Cunningham, Samantha Duncan, Natalie Krahenbuhl, Chelsea Kreienheder, David LeVota, Deanna Mazdra, Kinsey Parker, Natasha Parsons, Lauren Pinkins, Miranda Powers, Alex Rangel, Curtis Rich, Heather Sherrer, and Diallo Simms.

For more information, contact the Department of Theatre at 660-543-4020.