The Pleiades Visiting Writers Series

Alexander Weinstein & Whitney Terrell
Wednesday, January 25 @ 2 pm
UCM Gallery of Art & Design







Alexander Weinstein is the Director of The Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing and the author of the short story collection Children of the New World (Picador 2016). His fiction and translations have appeared in Cream City Review, Hayden's Ferry Review, Notre-Dame Review, Pleiades, PRISM International, World Literature Today, and other journals.



Whitney Terrell's first novel, The Huntsman (Viking), was a New York Times notable book and was selected as a best book of 2001 by The Kansas City Star and The St. Louis Post-Dispatch. His second novel, The King of Kings County (Viking), won the William Rockhill Nelson award from The Kansas City Star and was selected as a best book of 2005 by the Christian Science Monitor. He is currently an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.



Jacques Rancourt & Nance Van Winckel
Thursday, February 23 @ 2 pm
UCM Gallery of Art & Design

Jacques J. Rancourt is the author of Novena, winner of the Lena-Miles Wever Todd prize. His poems have appeared in the Kenyon Review, jubilat, New England Review, Ploughshares, Virginia Quarterly Review, and Best New Poets 2014, among others.


Nance Van Winckel is the author of six collections of poems—most recently Pacific Walkers —and five books of fiction. She lives in Spokane, Washington, where she is a Professor in Eastern Washington University’s Inland Northwest Center for Writers. She also teaches in Vermont College of Fine Arts’ MFA in Writing Program.

Humanities Lecture by Kazim Ali
Thursday, March 9 @ 2 pm
UCM Gallery of Art & Design



Kazim Ali is a poet, essayist, fiction writer and translator. H​is books of essays include Orange Alert: Essays on Poetry, Art and the Architecture of Silence and Fasting for Ramadan. His volumes of poetry, include Sky Ward, winner of the Ohioana Book Award in Poetry​; ​The Far Mosque, winner of Alice James Books' New England/New York Award; The Fortieth Day; All One's Blue; ​and the cross-genre text Bright Felon: Autobiography and Cities. He has also published a translations Marguerite Duras, Sohrab Sepehri, and Marguerite Duras.


B. J. Best and The David Baker Award Winners

Friday, April 21 @ 3pm

Library Performance Corner




 B. J. Best is the author of three books of poetry:  But Our Princess Is in Another Castle, Birds of Wisconsin, and State Sonnets.  An additional full-length book is forthcoming:  the novella-in-verse I got off the train at Ash Lake. He teaches at Carroll University in Waukesha, Wisconsin, and lives in the Wisconsin countryside with his wife, son, their three cats, and the occasional salamander in their basement.