Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Academic Affairs / Provost

Administration 203
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4116


Honors College Advisory Committee Official Charge


     A.  To advise and assist the Dean of The Honors College in building an Honors College Program that fosters excellence and attracts and challenges top academic students

     B.  To evaluate periodically the The Honors College Program


     Reports to the Dean of The Honors College.


     A.  Composition (9 members)

  1. One faculty member from each of the other four colleges and one faculty member from Library
  2. Dean of The Honors College (non-voting)
  3. Coordinator of Undergraduate Research
  4. Two student members

     B.  Selection

  1. Faculty members from each college nominated by FS Committee on Committees and confirmed by Faculty Senate
  2. Dean of The Honors College (non-voting)
  3. Coordinator of Undergraduate Research
  4. Upper-division student member enrolled in The Honors College selected by Student Government Association
  5. President of Honors College Students' Association

     C.  Committee Chair - The Dean of The Honors College shall serve as chair

     D.  Term of Service

  1. Faculty members:  three years
  2. Student members:  one year
  3. Ex officio/non-voting - ongoing


     1. Meeting Schedule: Committee meetings are held twice per semester (four times per academic year).
     2. Additional Committee Member Qualifications: None.
     3. Triennial Charge Update: The committee chair is responsible for completing a triennial charge review at the designated time and then submitting it to the Faculty Senate Committee on Committee’s representative. 
     4. Procedures Manual: The committee chair is responsible for an annual report and updates to the Procedures Manual kept electronically in Academic Affairs.  
     5.  Electronic Voting: The committee may conduct business and voting via electronic means.

Revised November 2004.

Standardized formatting update adding terms of service for ex officio/non voting and comment section April 2016.

Editorial change for membership from 8 to 9. April 2016.