Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Support Staff Council

President: Barb Hicks
Vice President: Felicity Buell
Treasurer: Katelyn Adams
Secretary: Tia Milburn


September 2010

Support Staff Council Minutes

September 14, 2010

1:30 P.M. - UN 235

Attendees: Brenda Dooley, Joyce Stephens, Sarah Bailey, Jo Greife, Peggy Harrison, Ginny McTighe, Tia Milburn, Bettie Moore, Shelia Schneider, Virdia Stevens, Dorothy Salsman, Lisa Schmidt, Susie Pine, Rick Dixon, and Teresa Huffman.


Brenda Dooley, Support Staff Council President, called the September meeting to order and welcomed those attending. A count was taken to make sure we had a quorum for voting.


A correction that had been made to the minutes was that Cindy Merryfield had prepared the list of 2010-2011 goals. An addition was the co-sponsoring the December coffee as a goal. Peggy Harrison moved to accept the minutes as presented. Ginny McTighe seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken with all in favor.

Treasurer’s Report

Brenda Dooley read the Treasurer's report as provided by Diana Summers. The Support Staff Council balance is $1,322.33. The only expenses over the last month to month and a half have been for candy bars for new employee orientations.  The Foundation Educational Award balance is $306.03. During the month of August there was a $500.00 Support Staff Award paid out. August gift revenue was $29.00. The Foundation Survival Adult Abuse Center fund stands at $2,901.40. August gift revenue was $27.00. Brenda thanked the support staff members who make regular gifts through their payroll deduct for the Educational Award or the Survival Adult Abuse Center funds.

Administrative Liaison Report

Dorothy Salsman was present representing Dr. Betty Roberts, Administrative Liaison, but said Betty had no new updates to share this month.

Professional Staff Council Report

Lisa Schmidt, Vice Chairman of the Professional Staff Council, gave us highlights of their August meeting.

Committee Reports

No one had committee reports at this time.

Old Business


New Business

Although Brenda had sent out an addendum of the goals presented previously, she suggested we start with the goals as presented in the August minutes since they reflected the discussions at that time.  After further discussion, Ginny McTighe moved we accept the goals as amended. Bettie Moore seconded the motion. The motion carried.

SSC Goals for 2010-2011:

The next item of new business was the Voluntary Early Retirement Incentives and Voluntary Separation Policy (VERIVSP) as prepared by the Professional Staff Council – Human Resources Committee with representatives from the Support Staff Council and the Bargaining Unit.

There are a lot of gray areas and unknowns but it was stated, and overall felt, that if we don't throw our name in the hat – we will not be considered when the time comes. We should go forward collectively with the other governing groups representing staff of the University.

Rick Dixon reminded the Council the approved document would have to go to the President's Cabinet who would then send it to HR and Administration and Finance to run numbers before anything would be submitted to the Board of Governors.  It is highly unlikely our document would be accepted without changes being made.

Shelia Schneider made a motion to accept the VERIVSP as presented. Ginny McTighe second the motion. Brenda asked for discussion.

A question was raised as to whether a staff member could retire and then come back and work as temporary or part time without giving up the incentive paid for early retirement.  Although this and other questions were valid and worthwhile, because of needing to submit a proposal this week, Brenda called for a hand vote of those in favor of the VERIVSP as presented. We had 8 of 11 voting members present.  The motion carried with all 8 voting in favor.

Support Staff Drawing

Bettie Moore won a Mazzio’s free lunch card.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:28 p.m.

Our next meeting will be October 12, 2010 - 1:30 p.m. – UN 236.

Respectfully submitted:

Joyce M. Stephens

Support Staff Council Secretary