Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Educational Leadership and Human Development

Lovinger Building, Room 4101
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4341
Office Manager: Barb Hicks


Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership

Students may pursue a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in Educational
Leadership at the University of Central Missouri. The degree is
conferred by the University of Missouri-Columbia. The program
uses a cohort format that requires the student to complete required
course work in two years. A dissertation follows the course
work. Students are accepted into the cohort group every two
years by meeting entrance requirements which include a Masters
Degree, a substantiated goal of Educational Leadership, GRE
scores, undergraduate and graduate GPA, evaluation of a writing
assessment and a personal interview. The curriculum includes the
following broad themes:

• Organizational Analysis
• Leadership Theory and Practice
• Analyzing Educational Policy
• Content and Context for Learning
• Research and Inquiry and Evaluation

Study commences with a summer schedule on the University
of Missouri-Columbia campus. Fall and Spring semester courses
are taught on campus and at UCM’s Summit Center (CSC) by
UCM faculty. Following a second summer of study in Columbia, as
well as Fall and Spring study at UCM and UCM-Lee's Summit, students enter the
dissertation stage of the degree.

Contact Dr. Sandy Hutchinson at or 660-543-4720 for more information.

For more information and the application process, click on the link below:
Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Warren_Waller Scholarship

The Mary E. Warren and Elgeva Waller Education Administration Scholarship is available through the University of Central Missouri Foundation for a female student enrolled in her second semester of the Cooperative Doctoral Program at the University of Central Missouri.The scholarship was made possible by way of a gift from Mr. Norris Waller, ’72, and Dr. Fran Waller, ’69, of Higginsville, Missouri in honor of their mothers, Mary E. Warren and Elgeva Waller.