Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Three Warrensburg Educators, All UCM Alumni, Recognized by MASA

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (April 12, 2017) Three University of Central Missouri alumni dedicated to the quality education of all students in the Warrensburg R-6 School District were honored by the Missouri Association of School Administrators during the group’s awards banquet March 29 at the MASA Spring Conference.

MASA Award recipients

Deborah Orr, left, retired Warrensburg R-6 Superintendent of Schools; Scott Patrick, center, Warrensburg R-6 superintendent of schools; and Beth Rutt, right, member and past president of the Warrensburg R-6 Board of Education, recently were honored by the Missouri Association of School Administrators for their dedication to excellence in education.

Scott Patrick, superintendent of the Warrensburg R-6 School District, was among the superintendents from each of the eight MASA districts who received the Robert L. Pearce Award. The Pearce Award program is a long-standing tradition of the association honoring excellence in education and community leadership among Missouri school superintendents.

Deborah Orr, retired Warrensburg R-6 superintendent of schools and UCM assistant professor of elementary and early childhood education, was one of eight emeritus educators to receive the Outstanding Emeritus Educator Award. The award recognizes retired administrators based upon length of service, their participation in MASA while active members, significant accomplishments during their careers as educators, and their continued interest in public education since retirement.

Beth Rutt, a member of the Warrensburg R-6 Board of Education and director of student activities at UCM, was among those who received the Friend of Education Award. Rutt has been a member of the Warrensburg R-6 Board of Education for 26 years, including five years as president. The award is presented annually to recognize community members for their contribution to education, locally or statewide.

The MASA awards were presented at the groups Spring Conference to recipients from each of the eight MASA districts based upon nominations from fellow educators. In addition to the above awards, the group also presents the Honorary Life Member award, the New Superintendent Award, 25-Year Service Award and Memorial Recognition.