Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Mollenkamp Named Recipient of Wayne Brown Award

Contact: Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (Oct. 8, 2013) –Julie Mollenkamp, professor of theatre at the University of Central Missouri, received the 2013-14Wayne Brown Award for Outstanding Teaching at the annual Speech and Theatre Association of Missouri conference at the Lake of the Ozarks in September.

Julie Mollenkamp 2
Julie Mollenkamp

The Wayne Brown Award for Outstanding Teaching recognizes a high school or university speech and theatre instructor who has excelled in the area of teaching and made a significant contribution to the training of speech and theatre students.

Mollenkamp, who currently serves in Meridith Harmon Sauer Distinguished Endowed Professorship in Theatre at UCM, was nominated for the award by former students who are now high school speech and theatre instructors. Alisha Morris, Neosho High School theatre instructor, and Katie Replogle, Raytown High School theatre instructor, presented Mollenkamp with the award.

Mollenkamp began teaching at the University of Central Missouri in 2001. She has received the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Excellence in Teaching Award and the Faculty Achievement Award, the National Communication Association Theatre Division Excellence in Teaching and Service Award.

Mollenkamp teaches theatre courses in the areas of history, management, acting, and directing. She also serves as the graduate coordinator for the Master of Arts degree and the advisor for the Bachelor of Science in Education degree in Speech Communication and Theatre, the Dr. Ed See Student Teachers Association, and the BlackBox Theatre Program. 

STAM is an organization that promotes communication and cooperation in the speech communication and theatre professions in Missouri. The organization works to increase professional stature and to improve teaching and scholarship in the communicative arts and sciences. More than 240 members attended this year’s conference.