Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


Dandurand to Receive SGA Excellence in Governance Award

Contact Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (March 27, 2012) – In recognition of his commitment to Missourians and his role in state government and the judiciary, the University of Central Missouri’s Student Government Association will honor Missouri Deputy Attorney General Joseph P. Dandurand with the James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award.

Joseph P. Dandurand
Joseph P. Dandurand

Dandurand will become the 27th recipient of the annual award at 7 p.m. Friday, April 6, in the first floor reading area of the UCM James C. Kirkpatrick Library. The public is invited to attend.

An alumnus of the University of Central Missouri, Dandurand has a long record of service to Johnson County and the state of Missouri. After receiving a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration degree from UCM in 1977, Dandurand received his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1980 and entered private practice with the firm of Rahm, Rahm and Dandurand in Warrensburg.

In 1986 he was elected circuit judge for the 17th Judicial Circuit serving Johnson and Cass counties, serving as presiding judge from 1994 to 2007. After being re-elected for three terms, he was appointed to the Missouri Court of Appeals-Western District in 2007. In 2009 Dandurand was appointed Missouri Deputy Attorney General, serving under Missouri Attorney General Chris Koster.

Dandurand is member of the board of directors of the National Association of Attorneys General Training Institute and former chair of the Supreme Court Judicial Education Committee. He is past president of the Missouri Circuit Judge’s Association and a former member of the Judicial Administration Division of the Missouri Bar and the Supreme Court Judicial Records Committee. He also is a member of the Missouri State Records Committee and a former vice chair of the Missouri Board of Court Reporter Examiners.

During his career, Dandurand has received the UMKC Law Foundation Decade Award and the Missouri Court Appointed Special Advocate Juvenile Judge of the Year Award.

Since 1986 the UCM Student Government Association has presented the Excellence in Governance award to individuals who have significantly contributed to effective government in the state of Missouri. The SGA Internal Issues Committee selects the recipient from nominees who promote good governmental procedures, efficiency and economy in government, and policies that are in the public’s best interest.

The award is named for the late James C. Kirkpatrick, a UCM alumnus who served 20 years as Missouri's Secretary of State. Past recipients of the award include Gov. Mel Carnahan, Gov. Matt Blunt, State Representative Deleta Williams, Sen. Claire McCaskill, Gov. Jay Nixon, Secretary of State Robin Carnahan and State Senator David Pearce.