Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

University Relations

University of Central Missouri
Administration 302
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-543-4640
Fax: 660-543-4943


SGA Will Honor Thomson with Excellence in Governance Award

Contact Mike Greife
WARRENSBURG, MO (April 20, 2010) – Honoring his commitment to Missourians and his role in state government, UCM ’s Student Government Association will honor Rep. Mike Thomson, Republican representative from the 4th House District from Maryville, with the 2010 James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award.

Rep. Mike Thomson
Rep. Mike Thomson

Thomson will become the 25th recipient of the annual award at 7 p.m. Friday, April 23, in the first floor reading area of the UCM James C. Kirkpatrick Library. The public is invited to attend.

Elected to the House in November 2007, Rep. Thomson represents Atchison, Nodaway, Holt, and a portion of Worth counties. He currently chairs the House Education Appropriations Committee and serves as vice-chairman of the Higher Education committee. He also serves on the Budget, Agri-Business, and Elementary and Secondary Education committees.

A career educator, Rep. Thomson is a native of Craig, Mo. He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from Northwest Missouri State University. During his career in education, he served as a teacher, counselor, coach and administrator in public secondary education in Missouri prior to joining the faculty of Northwest Missouri State University in 1998. While at Northwest, he taught in the Department Psychology, Sociology and Counseling and worked in admissions before running for the House seat vacated by Brad Lager.

Thomson is a member of the Missouri State Teachers Association, Missouri Retired Teachers Association, the Missouri School Counselors Association and the Maryville Optimist Club. His professional honors include Missouri Secondary Counselor of the Year, Northwest Missouri District Counselor of the Year, Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers, Maryville High School Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Midland Empire Basketball Coach of the Year, and Northwest District Industrial Arts Teacher of the Year.

Since 1986, the UCM Student Government Association has presented the Excellence in Governance award to individuals who have significantly contributed to excellent government. The SGA Internal Issues Committee selects the recipient from nominees who promote good governmental procedures, efficiency and economy in government, and policies that are in the public’s best interest.

The award is named for the late James C. Kirkpatrick, the UCM alumnus who served 20 years as Missouri's Secretary of State. Past recipients of the award include Gov. Mel Carnahan, Gov. Matt Blunt, State Representative Deleta Williams, Sen. Claire McCaskill, Gov. Jay Nixon, Secretary of State Robin Carnahan and State Senator David Pearce.