Open Calendar


Nominees | Learning to a Greater Degree | University News | Award | LTAGD

Learning to a Greater Degree Award Nominees Recognized

By Jeff Murphy, April 13, 2016

WARRENSBURG, MO – University of Central Missouri President Charles Ambrose on April 11 publicly thanked 2015-2016 nominees for the Learning to a Greater Degree Award, recognizing the difference these campus members are making to create a living and learning environment that is focused on student success.

His remarks were made during a reception honoring 43 individuals who were nominated for these awards. The award was established by the Office of University Relations in 2012 to commemorate the university’s strategic position, and what it means to UCM. Awards honor one student and one faculty or staff member per semester, based on qualities they exhibit that exemplify the strategic platform. Articulated as Learning to a Greater Degree, the strategic platform is supported by four reasons to believe in a UCM education - a culture of service, engaged learning, future-focused academics, and a worldly perspective.

Faculty, staff, and students are all instrumental in helping the campus deliver its promise to provide a campus dedicated to Learning to a Greater Degree, according to Kelly Waldram Cramer, director of marketing and promotion in the Office of University Relations. In conducting the recognition ceremony, she noted that the strategic position represents “who we are and what we do” at UCM. Living up to the promise the university makes to its students would not be possible without the help of individuals such as those who were nominated for Learning to a Greater Degree awards.

“Through this award, we are able to lift up and celebrate just a few individuals whose hard work makes a difference on this campus,” she told individuals who gathered for the event at the University Art Center Gallery. Waldram Cramer announced award nominees after a brief presentation by Presidents Ambrose.

In his remarks to the group, Ambrose talked about how the Learning to a Greater Degree strategic platform communicates the commitment of people and sense of place at UCM. “The interaction you have on a day-to-day basis to create value may be that critical part of the equation that says college is worth it.”

“You always remember those people who made that difference,” he added. “Your nomination for this award says that you are that person. You made that difference for someone.”

Although not all were able to attend, UCM faculty, staff and students who were recognized at the event were: Briana Anderson, Ronald Ascenvil, Kaitlin Becker, Jacob Bowder, Brittany Brooks, Kristin Campbell, Dr. Myron “Mike” Carter (posthumously), Sue Ann Carter, Ashley Cason, Lt. Col. Jason Christianson, Steve Ciafullo, Dr. Amber Clifford, Dr. Elizabeth Diaz, Dr. Dabin Ding, Cameron Duthoy, Liam Eschbacher, Dr. Miriam Fuller, Nicholas Hanna, Dr. Kerry Henson, Dr. Julie Hentges, Travis Hume, Elizabeth Hurtt, Caleb James, Dr. Odin Jurkowski, Dr. Janice Klimek, Randy Kramer, Dr. Jae Woong Lee, Kathryn Legate, Dr. Hannah Marsh, Jessica Martin, Mathew Martinez, Amanda May, Bradley Minor, Dr. Brenda Moeder, Sarah Pattison, Dr. Janice Putnam, Steve Quick, Dr. Allison Robbins, Dr. Zhiyong Shan, Stephanie Shipwash, Dr. Matt Thomas, Dr. Ashley Wellman, and Morgan Yelvington.


  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram