nursing students at MIC campus

Breadcrumb

School of Nursing

The School Nursing prepares students to enter the demanding, yet rewarding field of nursing.

Live Your Passion - Make a Difference

The School of Nursing at the University of Central Missouri offers affordable future-focused academics that will prepare you as a leader in healthcare delivery, health policymaking, and health promotion. Nationally accredited since 1978, UCM Nursing offers quality instruction in both rural and urban nursing. As a UCM nurse, you’ll be a competent, caring and mindful practitioner committed to the service of creating and leading a culture of health.

 

Success through Mentoring

UCM Nursing Faculty care about you and want you to succeed. Get to know your instructors and get involved in established mentoring opportunities via faculty mentoring groups, faculty advised honors projects, community service, student nurses’ organization service, peer mentoring, and more. You gain firsthand experience through clinical practicums, simulations, and volunteer events.

Meet Dr. Julie Clawson

School Chair and Professor

Dr. Julie Clawson chair of UCM's Department of Nursing

Dr. Julie Clawson is a professor of nursing and the chair of the School of Nursing. She obtained her Ph.D. in Nursing from University of Missouri-Columbia, a master’s degree in Community Health Nursing, and a master’s degree in Social Gerontology. Dr. Clawson teaches baccalaureate and master’s courses in nursing based on her expertise in family and population health. As a nursing alumna of UCM, she works to expand students’ experiences beyond the boundaries of traditional healthcare into creating a culture of health where one lives, works, and plays.

testimonial

 quote from Darinda Reberry COO at WMMC

Accreditation

The nursing program at the University of Central Missouri is fully approved by the Missouri State Board of Nursing, 573-781-0681.

The baccalaureate and master's programs at UCM are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington DC 20001, 202-463-6930. The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education is an autonomous accrediting agency, contributing to the improvement of the public's health. CCNE ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate and graduate education programs preparing effective nurses.

CCNE accreditation logo

 

CCNE Website

Student Nursing Organization (SNO)

The purpose of SNO is to :

  • promote the member's interest in nursing, the School of Nursing and professional nursing organizations
  • provide the opportunity for exchange of ideas among students, between students, and faculty/staff
  • foster active membership and participation in planned extracurricular activities
  • foster leadership opportunities and professional development for students interested in nursing at CENTRAL
  • raise funds for the School of Nursing functions and organize social functions

Scholarships & Funding

For further information regarding scholarships and financial aid, please visit Student Financial Services.

School of Nursing Faculty and Staff

 

Name Title Phone Email
Kimberly Adler Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 liesmann@ucmo.edu
Tracy Alagna Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 alagna@ucmo.edu
Janet Andrews Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 jandrews@ucmo.edu
Dr. Mallory Bejster RN-BSN Coordinator & 
Assistant Professor
660-543-4775 bejster@ucmo.edu
Leslyn Brouillette

Graduate Coordinator &
Assistant Professor

660-543-6605 brouillette@ucmo.edu
Amanda Cavlovich Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 cavlovich@ucmo.edu
Dr. Julie Clawson School Chair & 
Professor
660-543-4775 clawson@ucmo.edu
Tracy Colon Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 colon@ucmo.edu
Amanda Cornelius Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 acornelius@ucmo.edu
Gretchen Cowherd Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 gcowherd@ucmo.edu
Andrew Crowther Assistant Professor 660-543-6603 acrowther@ucmo.edu
Kristina D'Agostino Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 kdagostino@ucmo.edu
Amanda Davis Assistant Professor 660-543-6609 ajdavis@ucmo.edu
Dr. Tonya Eddy Assistant Professor 660-543-8305 teddy@ucmo.edu
Ariel Ellenburg Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 ellenburg@ucmo.edu
Anna Fedkina Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 fedkina@ucmo.edu
Rose Marie Fowler-Swarts Assistant Professor 660-543-6153 fowler-swarts@ucmo.edu
Scott Griffith Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 sgriffith@ucmo.edu
Christine Hall Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 cxhall@ucmo.edu
Jessica Herman Assistant Professor 660-543-6152 jherman@ucmo.edu
Kimberly Hertzog Office Professional 660-543-6600 hertzog@ucmo.edu
Trisha Highland Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 highland@ucmo.edu
Sara Hoffmann BSN Coordinator & 
Assistant Professor
660-543-6604 hoffmann@ucmo.edu
Amy Johnson Assistant Professor 660-543-6154 aljohnson@ucmo.edu
Judy Kenney Academic Coordinator 660-543-8736 kenney@ucmo.edu
Melissa Koonce Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 koonce@ucmo.edu
Laura Mars Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 mars@ucmo.edu
Dr. Linda Mulligan Professor 660-543-6606 mulligan@ucmo.edu
Dr. Allison Norwood Adjunct Emeriti 660-543-4775 norwood@ucmo.edu
Dr. Stephanie Powelson Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 powelson@ucmo.edu
Dr. C. Jo Riggs Professor 660-543-6607 riggs@ucmo.edu
Dr. Laura Routh Adjunct Instructor 660-543-4775 routh@ucmo.edu
Beth Schlesselman Program Assistant 660-543-4775 schlesselman@ucmo.edu
Martha Sanderford-Smith Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 sanderford-smith@ucmo.edu
Marcia Sholl Assistant Professor 660-543-6150 sholl@ucmo.edu
Ashley Showman Assistant Professor 660-543-6602 showman@ucmo.edu
Kristine Slagle Assistant Professor 660-543-6608 kajslagle@ucmo.edu
Kathryn Taylor Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 kltaylor@ucmo.edu
Dr. Margo Thompson Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 mthompson@ucmo.edu
Faye Vandendaele Adjunct Instructor 660-543-6600 vandendaele@ucmo.edu
Anne Wallace Assistant Professor 660-543-6159 awallace@ucmo.edu
Amy Yancey Academic Coordinator 660-543-8438 yancey@ucmo.edu

 

testimonial

The mission of the School of Nursing is committed to the formation of nurse leaders who apply nursing reasoning, integrate professional nursing values, collaborate with all members of healthcare team, and improve the quality in a health information rich environment.

 

 

 

 

 

Contact

Dr. Julie Clawson
Chair
Dockery 203
Tel: 660-543-4775
Fax: 660-543-8304

social-section

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram