Open Calendar


Click to print this page

Student Government Association

The Voice for UCM Students

The Student Government Association (SGA) empowers the voice of University of Central Missouri students by serving as the liaison between students and the faculty, staff and administration. SGA initiatives have included establishing the James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Government Award, the Night Ryder and Readership programs and helping to initiate the Student Recreation and Wellness Center. The SGA office is located at
Union 217.

Serving UCM Students

Senate and House

The UCM SGA has a two-chamber Congress: the Senate and the House of Representatives. Senators serve their class or outside governance groups. Representatives serve their respective colleges within UCM.

SGA’s Mission

The mission of the Student Government Association at UCM is to “empower the student voice.”

Join SGA
If you’re interested in joining SGA or have questions or concerns, please stop by our office at Union 217, call 660-543- 4094, or apply online at:

Attend Meetings
Senate meetings are held Tuesdays at 5 p.m. and House meetings are held Wednesdays at 5 p.m. Meetings are held in Wood 205.

Meet the Executive Branch

Cole Fine
President, Student Government Association
Office Phone: 660-543- 4094
Cell Phone: 913-593-5275

Cole Fine is president of the UCM SGA.  A Political Science major from Overland Park, KS, Cole is passionate about making UCM a great university for both current and prospective students.  Toward that goal, he creates constructive dialogue with administrators and seeks feedback from students about how UCM can be improved.  He is involved in the American Democracy Project and also enjoys politics as well as everything Kansas City!

Katie Cupp
Vice President, Student Government Association
Office Phone: 660-543- 4094
Cell Phone: 660-413-1128

Katie Cupp serves as vice president of the UCM SGA.  A Political Science and Communications major from Marceline, MO, she feels strongly about growing student involvement in campus organizations and attracting future students.  She is interested in politics, enneagrams, and intramurals.


Justin Cobb
Secretary, Student Government Association
Office Phone: 660-543- 4094
Cell Phone: 573-418-1498
Just Cobb serves as secretary of UCM SGA and is a Political Science major.  He is passionate about providing a voice for all Mules and Jennies and improving the UCM experience.  Justin is an ROTC cadet and enjoys hiking and exploring the outdoors in his free time.

Ashley Winn
Treasurer, Student Government Association
Office Phone: 660-543- 4094
Fax:  636-543- 8564
Cell Phone: 417-559-5502
Ashley Winn serves as the treasurer of UCM SGA.  An Interior Design major from Branson, MO, she is passionate about getting first generation students the help and resources they need for success.  She enjoys watching football, traveling and playing with her dog.


The Senate meets Tuesdays at 5 p.m. The room number will be posted Tuesdays in and in front of the Elliott Student Union. All meetings are open to the public. Please help make a difference at UCM.

President Pro Tempore:

Tyler Dodd

Senate Floor Leader:

Justin Cobb

Assistant Senate Floor Leader:


Freshman Class Senators:

Cade Tremain 

Jennifer White



Sophomore Class Senators:

Reese Sherman

Solomon Bailey

Sierra Rowlan

Colby Crowder

Junior Class Senators: 

Brianna Miles

Chloe Harris

Kayla Taylor


Senior Class Senators:                         

Christian Melgar

Kyra Garner

Tyler Dodd


Graduate Student Senators:

James Spry


Senator for Interfraternity Council (IFC):

Zachary Racy

Senator for United Student Housing Association (USHA):

Dawson Davis

Senator for International Student Organization (ISO):

Sarvesh Patel

Senator for National Panhellenic Conference (NPC):

Chloe Valleroy

Senator for Mo's Activities Council (MAC):

Isabel Anderson

Senator for Association of Black Collegians (ABC):


Senator for National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC):

Alexander Cowin

House of Representatives

The House meets Wednesdays at 5 p.m. The room number will be posted Tuesdays in front of the Elliott Student Union. All meetings are open to the public. Please help make a difference at UCM.

Speaker of the House

Zachary Walker

House Floor Leader

Veronica Knox

Assistant House Floor Leader


College of Health, Science, and Technology

Laurie Luckritz

William Nolan

Anna MacLaughlin

Megan McBride

Blanca Melgar

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Veronica Knox

Zachary Walker

Harmon College of Business and Professional Studies

Max Unell

Bo Kennedy

Davontae Hair

Emma Hill

Destiny Cossileon

Bryce Jennings

Alleyiana Brown

Hayley Allwood

College of Education

Sara Taber

Excellence in Governance Award

The James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award honors the legacy of the late James C. Kirkpatrick. He served as Missouri’s secretary of state from 1965 to 1985, establishing the Missouri record for tenure of an elected state officeholder.  An alumnus of UCM and former member and president of the university’s Board of Regents, Mr. Kirkpatrick was named UCM’s Distinguished University Fellow upon his retirement and return to Warrensburg from Jefferson City.  Since 1986, the award has been given around St. Patrick’s day in honor ofMr. Kirkpatrick’s heritage. He died in 1997 at the age of 92.  Past recipients of the award include:

  • Congressman Ike Skelton
  • Congressman Emanuel Cleaver
  • John Danforth
  • Mel Carnahan
  • Roy Blunt
  • Claire McCaskill
  • Missouri Secretary of State Robin Carnahan
  • Missouri State Senator David Pearce.

Recipients By Year

2019: Chuck Ambrose

2018: Jason Kander

2017: Doug Harris

2016: Paul W. Tibbets IV

2015: Beth Rutt

2014: Steve Arbo

2013: Walt Hicklin

2012: Joseph P. Dandurand

2011: Chris Koster

2010: Mike Thomson

2009: Gayle Kingery

2008: Paul LeVota

2007: Robin Carnahan

2006: David Pearce

2005: Claire McCaskill

2004: Deleta Williams

2003: Matt Blunt

2002: Jay Nixon

2001: Roger Wilson

2000: Roy Blunt

1999: Ed Elliot

1998: Rebecca McDowell Cook

1997: Thomas F. Eagleton

1996: Mel Carnahan

1995: Ann Kettering Covington

1994: John C. Danforth

1993: Emanuel Cleaver II

1992: William J. Mann

1991: James Mathewson

1990: Clarence Kelly

1989: Ike Skelton

1988: Avis Tucker

1987: John Ashcroft

1986: James C. Kirkpatrick


Student Government
Elliott Union 217
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Tel: 660-543-4094
Fax: 660-543-8564



  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram