Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content


AACSB Accredited MBA Program, highest level of accreditation
UCM offers students 12 Bloomberg terminals
Red Marketing
Public Relations at the University of Central Missouri
The State Farm Marketing and Sales Competition give students an opportuntity to showcase sales skills

Meet the Faculty - Department of Economics, Finance and Marketing - University of Central Missouri

Meet the Faculty

Economics

Finance

Marketing

Public Relations

Economics

Chris Azevedo, Econ program professor at UCM

Christopher Azevedo, a professor of economics, obtained his Ph.D. from Iowa State University. He has been at UCM since 2003. Azevedo teaches Principles of Economics courses, and he is the advisor for the Economics Club.

cazevedo@ucmo.edu


Office: Dockery 310-C

Catherine Chambers, professor of Economics at the University of Central Missouri Catherine Chambers, a professor of economics, obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Kentucky. She has been at UCM since 1990. Chambers teaches Money and Banking and Principles of Economics courses.

chambers@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-H
Paul Chambers, Professor of Economics at the Univesity of Central Missouri

Paul Chambers, a professor of economics, obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Kentucky. He came to UCM in 1990, and he teaches Game Theory and Intermediate Macroeconomics courses.

pchambers@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 310-D

Mihaela Craioveanu, Professor of Economics at the Univesity of Central Missouri Mihaela Craioveanu, an associate professor of economics, obtained her Ph.D. from Louisiana State University. She has been at UCM since 2008. Craioveanu teaches Econometrics and Time Series courses.

craioveanu@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-D
John (Skip) Crooker, professor of economics, obtained his Ph.D. from Iowa State University. He has been at at UCM since 2002 and has taught the quantitative and managerial economics courses.

crooker@ucmo.edu
David Johnson, Economics

David Johnson, assistant professor of economics, obtained his Ph.D. from Florida State University. He came to UCM in 2015. Dr. Johnson teaches Principles of Microeconomics and Economics Analysis for Business, a core course in the MBA program.

djohnson@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-F

Paul Engelmann, Economics Paul Engelmann, professor emeritus of economics, earned his doctoral degree from Oklahoma State University. Engelmann teaches the microeconomics course as is the Faculty Representative for UCM's Division II athletics.
Penny Kugler, Economics Penny Kugler, Adjunt Assistant Professor of Economics, came to UCM in 1988 and teaches both the micro and macro economics courses. In addition to teaching economics courses, Penny also serves as the Director of the Center for Business Internships in the Harmon College of Business and Professional Studies.
Jim Swanson Jim Swanson, professor emeritus of economics, earned his doctoral degree from Washington State University. Swanson came to UCM in 1986 and has taught courses such as business statistics, intermediate economics, and labor economics.

 

Finance

Raja Bousouita, professor of finance at the University of Central Missouri Raja Bouzouita, a professor of finance, obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. Bouzouita has been at UCM since 1993, and she teaches Insurance and Financial Institutions courses.

bouzouita@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-B
Jim Cicon, Finance

James Cicon, assistant professor of finance, earned his Ph.D. from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Dr. Cicon, who came to UCM in 2015, teaches principles of finance, secunity anlysis, and is the faculty advisor for the Student Managed Investment Fund.

cicon@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 301-C

Sheila Grieser, finance professor at UCM Sheila Grieser, an instructor of finance, obtained her M.A. from UCM. Grieser has taught Business Statistics courses at UCM since 2001.

grieser@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-E
Elaine Jones, associate professor of Finance Elaine Jones, an associate professor of finance, obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Kansas. Jones has been at UCM since 1993, and she teaches Corporate Finance courses.

ejones@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-I
Jose Mercado, Chair of the Department of Economics, Finance and Marketing Jose Mercado is a professor of finance and the chair of the Department of Economics, Finance and Marketing. He obtained his Ph.D. from Texas Tech University, and came to UCM in 1988. Mercado teaches the Controllership and Treasury Function course.

mercado@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 300-G
Arthur Young, associate professor of finance

Arthur Young, an associate professor of finance, obtained his Ph.D. from Georgia State University. Young has been at UCM since 1993, and he teaches the Credit and Financial Statement Analysis and the Derivatives courses.

ayoung@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 307-C

 

Marketing

Doug Clopton, assistant professor of marketing Doug Clopton, an assistant professor of marketing, obtained his MBA from UCM. Clopton has been at UCM since 2010, and he teaches Marketing Policy and Sports Marketing courses.

dclopton@ucmo.edu


Office: Dockery 200-C

Harry Harmon, professor of marketing at the University of Central Missouri Harry Harmon, a professor of marketing, obtained his DBA from Louisiana Tech University. Harmon came to UCM in 1992, and he teaches Marketing Distribution and Marketing Management courses.

harmon@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 401-H
Ginger Killian, Assistant Professor of Marketing at UCM Ginger Killian, an assistant professor of marketing, obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Georgia. Killian came to UCM in 2013, and she teaches Marketing Policy and Digital Marketing courses.

killian@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 200-D
Charles Schwepker, Professor of Marketing at UCM

Charles Schwepker, Mike and Patti Davidson Distinguished Professor of Marketing, obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Memphis. He came to UCM in 1992, and he teaches Advanced Professional Selling and International Marketing courses. Schwepker is the advisor for the American Marketing Association and the State Farm Insurance Marketing and Sales Competition.

schwepker@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 401-G

Cheryl Shattuck, assistant professor of marketing Cheryl Shattuck, an assistant professor of marketing, obtained her MBA from UCM. Shattuck has been at UCM since 1999, and she teaches Principles of Advertising and Professional Sales courses.

cshattuck@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 405-H
Scott Smith, Professor of Marketing at the University of Central Missouri Scott Smith, a professor of marketing, obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Arkansas. He has been at UCM since 2003, and he teaches Consumer Behavior and marketing Research courses. Smith is the advisor of the American Marketing Association and Enactus.

sdsmith@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 401-F

 

Public Relations

Tricia Hansen-Horn


Tricia Hansen-Horn, professor and Public Relations program coordinator, earned her doctoral degree in Communication-Public Affairs and Issues Management from Purdue University. Hansen-Horn joined UCM in 1999, and under her leadership, the public relations program has grown in student numbers and in curriculum development.

hansen-horn@ucmo.edu


Office: Dockery 200-B

Tom Heapes


Tom Heapes, associate professor of Public Relations, earned his master's degree in Speech and his bachelor's degree in Journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Heapes developed and teaches UCM's popular Electronic and Social Media for PR class, as well as classes focused on media relations and public relations writing.

heapes@ucmo.edu


Office: Dockery 200-F

Adam Horn


Adam Horn, assistant professor of Public Relations, earned his doctoral degree in Strategic Communication from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Horn has extensive professional experience with media relations, and professional writing and editing for organizations and the celebrities who are contracted with those organizations.

ahorn@ucmo.edu


Office Dockery 200-E

Jenn Mullins


Jenn Mullins, instructor of Public Relations, earned her master's degree in Communication with a graduate certificate in Technical Communication. She came to UCM from Anchorage, Alaska, where she worked as the communication coordinator at the University of Alaska.

mullins@ucmo.edu


Office Dockery 200-I

 

 

Staff

Nancy Dyer Nancy Dyer - Office Professional

dyer@ucmo.edu

Office: Dockery 300-I

 

Adjunct Faculty
Marshall Abney, MBA, lecturer
Amanda Bradbury, MBA, lecturer
Todd McClure, ABD, visiting assistant professor
George Wilson, Ph.D., professor emeritus