Open Calendar


events | collegearts | facstaff | University News

Department of Theatre Dance to Present 'Our Town' Honoring Richard Herman

By Mike Greife, February 23, 2018

WARRENSBURG, MO – The University of Central Missouri Department of Theatre and Dance will present the mainstage production of Thornton Wilder's Our Town March 7-11 in the James L. Highlander Theatre.

The production will be directed by Richard Herman, professor of theatre, as a celebration by the university of his upcoming retirement and his 31 years of service to UCM. Herman will retire May 31.

Curtain time for the production is 7:30 p.m. March 7-10, with a 2 p.m. matinee planned for March 11. Tickets for season tickets holders are available at the Department of Theatre box office from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays beginning Feb. 28, with some season tickets held until March 1. Tickets for the general public will be available March 1. Online ticket sales will begin Feb. 23 at Admission is $15 for the general public, $10 for UCM faculty and staff and senior citizens, and $7 for students. Children under the age of five will not be admitted.

A timeless classic of 20th century American theatre, Our Town follows the lives of George and Emily as they fall in love and experience change and growth together. This Pulitzer Prize-winning drama draws the audience into the universality of human existence, urging us to celebrate the seemingly simple moments as they provide the deepest echoes throughout our lives.

Serving on the design team are UCM theatre alumni Tim Rothwell, instructor of theatre, scenic designer; Kayla Jestila, instructor of theatre, costume designer; and Daniel Parks, guest lighting design artist sponsored by the Meredith Harmon Sauer Guest Artist Series.

Cast members include Jordan Malone as Stage Manager; Caleb Gazaway as Dr. Gibbs; Maya Strickland as Mrs. Gibbs; Zach Hutchins as Mr. Webb; Adriana Luffman as Mrs. Webb; Sam Davin, Melanie Grantham and Emily Coffin as Emily; Nathan Endreshak, Zach Kujath, and Trevor Jones as George; Raheem Fiedler-Bay as Wally; Ashlyn Reece as Rebecca; Kendra Simpson as Joe Crowell; Heather Marsh as Si Crowell; Travis Hampton as Howie Newsom; Elise Marshall as Professor Willard; Demetrius Hampton as Constable Warren; Dalton Grafton as Simon Stimson; Allyson Latham as Mrs. Soames; Richard Herman as Joe Stoddard; and Omari Collins as Sam Craig. The People of the Town include Connor Bosworth, Rachel Bland, James Hatten, Decoda Hoover, Anthony Johnson, Alyssa Haverly, Katelyn Tormena, and Derek Caswell.

Production staff collaborating with the directors and designers include Kayla Helms and Adam Segura, assistant directors; Elizabeth Carter, stage manager; Ally Fields and Matthew Brigg, assistant stage managers; Annie Hall, lproperties mistress; Maya Strickland, assistant properties mistress; Cody Nelson, master electrician; Ethan Anissy, light board operator; Cassie Hoppas, costume manager; Kenlyn Shettlesworth, assistant costume designer; Caitlin Hahn, deck crew chief; Aaron Scully, publicity coordinator; Matthew Briggs, Tony Smith, Meghan Swovoda, and Erin Clavin, publicity assistants; Blake Legens, box office manager; McKenzie Mick, assistant box office manager; Deanne Swaringen, house manager, and Molly Ehrnman, assistant house manager.

For additional information. contact the Department of Theatre and Dance at 660-543-4020. For up to date UCM Theatre and Dance information, Like us on Facebook @UCMTheatreandDance.


  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram