Open Calendar


student awards | University News | Department of Theatre and Dance

UCM Theatre and Dance Presents Scholarships and Awards, Announces 2022-23 Performance Schedule

By Jeff Murphy, May 26, 2022

Individuals who participated in the recent presentation of awards and scholarships to UCM Theatre and Dance students included honorees and presenters, from left, Penny Gamm, New Theatre Guild (NTG) president ; Jace Nielsen; Rachel Curry; Judy Horn, NTG scholarship chair; Hollie Neumann; Gary Krings, NTG donor; Thomas Clark;  Dr. Ed See, professor emeritus of theatre and NTG donor; and Katie Marshall. 

WARRENSBURG, MO – University of Central Missouri Theatre and Dance recognized a number of its students and faculty through its annual awards and scholarship dinner during the spring semester on the stage at the James L. Highlander Theatre. UCM’s Theta Alpha Phi, National Theatre Honorary Fraternity, hosted the banquet with nearly 90 faculty members, students, and guests attending the event, which took place for the first time since 2019, and featured the presentation of 46 scholarships with a totall award vaue of approximately $40,000.

In addition to these awards, UCM Theatre and Dance has announced its 2022-2023 production season. Beginning with Central Missouri Repertory’s summer tour, May 26-June 3, “Alice in Wonderland”; Sept. 15-17, Studio Theatre One Acts; Oct. 6-9, "Stop Kiss”; Nov. 11-13 and 17-19, "Legally Blonde The Musical” (in collaboration with the Division of Music); Feb. 9-11, 2023, Studio Theatre One Acts; Feb. 23-26, 2023, “Eurydice”; Aril 6-9, 2023 “Little Women The Musical," and April 20-24, 2023, "Remember the Dance,” the end of the year sring dance concert.

During the recognition banquet,  Theta Alpha Phi members presented the following awards: Outstanding Performance in a Mainstage Play, Luke Habjan and Mekdelawit Keller; Outstanding Performance in a Mainstage Musical, Jace Nielsen and Alyce Wilson; Outstanding Dancer in a Mainstage Show, Carly Othic; Outstanding Choreography in a Mainstage Show, Miranda Muenz; Outstanding Mainstage Hair/Makeup Design, Allison Winsby; Outstanding Mainstage Costume Design, Hollie Neumann; Outstanding Mainstage Dramaturgy, Sasha Fuller; Outstanding Mainstage Stage Management, Madison Skiljan; Outstanding Mainstage Lighting Design, Seth Sneary; Outstanding Mainstage Sound Design, Molly Blackburn; Outstanding Mainstage Properties Design, Wesley Freeman; Outstanding Mainstage Scenic Design, Madison Skiljan; Outstanding Technical Direction and the Hugh Hocking Memorial Award for Superior Technical Theatre, Seth Holt. For collaboration on the 2022 spring dance concert, “Kaleidoscope,” Connor Sloan was honored for Outstanding Mainstage Original Composition, and Mary Gladbach was recognized for her Outstanding Mainstage Original Art Piece. The award for Outstanding Contribution to the Studio One-Act Theatre was presented to Seth Holt and the Outstanding Contribution to a Black Box Production was presented to Thomas Clark. The Outstanding Theatre Freshman Award went to Emily Turner, and the new Guiding Light Award for Outstanding Achievement as a Senior, honored Madison Skiljan. Additionally, the Theatre and Dance faculty members presented the Outstanding Theatre Student Awards to Charlotte Sipple and Madison Skiljan.

Numerous scholarships were presented throughout the evening, and included the New Theatre Guild McDowell Family Scholarship, Rachel Curry; New Theatre Guild Mary Wyram Family Scholarship, Thomas Clark; New Theatre Dennis D. Hennesy and Richard Carrothers Scholarship, Jace Nielsen New Theatre Arlene and Gary Krings Scholarship, Hollie Neumann; New Theatre Highlander-See Scholarship, Katie Marshall; James L. Highlander Theatre Scholarship, Tierra Buckner and Katelyn Harmon; Mancow Muller Theatre Scholarship, Quinn Allen and Owen Hopper; Loneta Pearce Scholarship for the Promotion of Theatre Arts, Brittany Brandt; Charles G. and Laura Keynon Kuhn Distinguished Theatre Artist Award, Kayla Addison, Holden Childress, Gracie Heath, Miranda Muenz, Jennifer White, and Alyce Wilson; Lucy Bergman Memorial Scholarship in Theatre, Finn Juliano, Katie Kaminiski, Keyvon Lewis, Makenzie Lewis, Paige Showen, Ansley Walker, and Hanna Wilson; Virgil E. See Theatre Scholarship, Luke Englert and Kierra Kellum;  Nina L. Devenny Distinguished Theatre Artist Award, Lexi Winterbower; Rye Studio Scholarships, Riley Given, TiJhana Hines, and Shanna Sinow;  Harold and Sherralyn Craven Scholarship in Theatre for incoming freshman students, Jared Dosch, Haley Lavelle and Madeline Otero;  BFAME KC Entertainment Scholarship, Mekdelawit Keller; William Martin Scully IV Creativity Scholarship, Stephanie Heathcock; Foundation Scholarship, Caleb Wands;  Peer Mentor Scholarship, Emily Turner;  Richard Herman Black Box Theatre Scholarship, Luke Habjan; and the David R. Peerbolte Technical Theatre Scholarship, Molly Blackburn and Wesley Freeman.

Theatre Ambassador Scholarships were presented to the following students: Maxwell Brennan, Grace Clark, Sapphire Engle, Thomas Ferguson, Maleena Johnson, Alyna Mathews, Cameron Morrison, Kennedy Reisdorph, Rosalyn Schuster, Carter Stelting, Alannah Trigg and Raegan Weber. The Distinguished Patron of the Year Award honored Kenneth and Janet Thompson who have been Theatre and Dance season ticket holders for more than 20 years.


  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram