admin

Breadcrumb

Click to print this page

UCM'S History

Rich Heritage

Founded in 1871, the University of Central Missouri is one of the oldest universities in Missouri. We have a rich educational heritage of building lifelong learners dedicated to service. Over the years, UCM has gone through a variety of name changes, each one reflecting the changed nature of the institution. Founded as Normal School No. 2, it later became known as Warrensburg Teachers College. In 1919, the name was changed to Central Missouri State Teachers College. In 1945, it became Central Missouri State College and in 1972, Central Missouri State University. The institution was named the University of Central Missouri in 2006.

Future Focused

Only a few dozen students attended UCM when it was founded in 1871. Now more than 12,300 students from all over the world are turning Opportunity into Action at UCM.

Diverse Programs

Originally founded as a training school for teachers, UCM now offers more than 150 majors and 37 graduate programs.

Learn more

Vibrant Campuses

UCM’s 1,561-acre main campus is in Warrensburg, 50 miles southeast of Kansas City. UCM also has a campus in Lee’s Summit.

Learn more

Timeline

1871

Founded as the State Normal School for the Second Normal District of Missouri

1907

Training School is organized, later to be known as College High

1919

Name changes to Central Missouri State Teachers College

1922

Adopted the mule as Central’s mascot

1946

Name changes to Central Missouri State College

1966

Max B. Swisher Skyhaven Airport is deeded to the college, allowing the institution to be the only university in Missouri to own and operate an airport

1972

Name changes to Central Missouri State University

1978

Acquires KMOS-TV station, under a core staff the station allows students to receive hands-on experiences in all aspects of the stations, production, on-air operations and promotions, traffic, print promotion and outreach

1984

Men’s and women’s basketball teams become 1984 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II champions, marking the only time the same institution takes both honors the same year 

2006

Name changes to University of Central Missouri

2010

Student Recreation and Wellness Center opens

2014

Men’s basketball team won the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II championship

2015

The Crossing - South at Holden, a multi-use facility including retail and 325 upper class apartments opens

2017

The Missouri Innovation Campus opens

Contact

University of Central Missouri
P. O. Box 800
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Tel: (660) 543-4111

social-section

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linkedin
  • instagram