Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content


Marty

"The faculty are focused on keeping students engaged
and well prepared."
- Marty

Susan

"My training at UCM is preparing me to be a versatile pilot."
- Susan

Aviation Safety

Master of Science in Aviation Safety
Take your career further online or the classroom.

Aviation Partners

UCM Aviation and Envoy Air and Gojet Partnerships.
Enjoy internship and hiring opportunities.

AABI International

UCM undergraduate aviation programs are accredited through AABI.

Wing Access Benefits

Priority registration for active duty military personnel, dependents and veterans.


Faculty in the Department of Aviation | Aviation degree | University of Central Missouri

Faculty and Staff

The aviation faculty and staff members at UCM represent a wide range of academic and professional training. All faculty hold terminal degrees in their areas of specialization and practices in the field.

Faculty  

Tony Monetti
Assistant Dean of Aviation and
Executive Director of Max B. Swisher Skyhaven Airport

Monetti brings a wealth of experience to UCM including having served as director of operations of the 13 Bomb Squadron, one of two operational B-2 stealth squadrons. He served as chief of safety directing U.S. Air Force 509th Bomb Wing safety and mishap prevention program, effecting more than 10,000 personnel, and has 24 years of jet flying experience, including commercial and military aircraft: 757, B-52, B-1, B-2, T-38 and T-37. He holds an Air Transport Pilot and Airframe and Powerplant Technician rating. Monetti is a seasoned international leader as Chairman of NATO Time Sensitive Targeting committee using diplomatic skills with senior leaders in industry, military and government. Monetti is a published author. He is an Air Force Academy graduate and holds two master's degrees.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 212



Phone: 660-543-8742
Cell: 660-441-8044

Email: tmonetti@ucmo.edu

Fred Schieszer
Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator

Prof. Schieszer comes to UCM with both military and civilian experience in aviation.  While in the military, he flew search and rescue missions in both fixed and rotary wing aircraft and participated in maritime law enforcement and humanitarian missions as a member of the United States Coast Guard.

In civilian aviation he worked as an aircraft accident investigator for many years and is nationally recognized as an accident investigation consultant and expert witness. During previous employment at UCM he established an “Aircraft Accident Investigation Laboratory” at Skyhaven Airport which set the standard for the Air Safety industry and was responsible for training nearly 20% of the current “General Aviation Air Safety Investigators” Most recently he helped start an aircraft manufacturing business which was the first to introduce electronic “capacitance discharge” high energy ignition systems in production aircraft.    Schieszer obtained the following degrees: Ed.S in Industrial Education, MS in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri and a BS in Pyschology and has been a licensed pilot since 1967.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210


Phone: 660-543-4975

Email: schieszer@ucmo.edu


John Horine
Professor Emeritus and
Graduate Program Coordinator

Teaching areas: Aviation Management, Air Transportation, Technical Report Writing, Development of Industrial Education. Research area: thesis consultant.; Horine serves as the program coordinator for students enrolled in the Aviation Safety graduate program.

Horine has his Ed.D. from the University of Missouri.

Located in TR Gaines Suite 210

Phone: 660-543-4457

Email: horine@ucmo.edu

Dave Card
Chief Flight Instructor and Assistant Professor

Card has more than 30 years of experience in general aviation flight training and Part 135 Air Taxi operations. He started his aviation career as a crop duster and high-line patrol pilot in northern South Dakota. Prior to coming to the University of Central Missouri, he taught for 11 years at South Dakota State University as the lead flight instructor and worked as a charter pilot at a local FBO. Card is an FAA Designated Pilot Examiner and FAASTeam Representative.

Card has a Master of Science in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri.

Located in Hagar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4335

Email: card@ucmo.edu

Runyon, Bill

William (Bill) Runyon
Assistant Chief Flight Instructor

Runyon brings a passion for aviation education stretching across 26 years of teaching people to enjoy the joy of flying. He brings experience from teaching courses for Sport Aviation, Private Pilot Ground School and Commercial Pilot Ground School, and all flight classes leading to the attainment of a Certified Flight Instructor Certificate. He especially is engaged in promoting professionalism in aviation and his hobbies include glider flying and antique tail-wheel aircraft.

Runyon has a Bachelor of Science in Science and Religion from Mid-America Nazarene University and a Master of Science in Aviation Safety from the University of Central Missouri.

Located in the Terminal Building at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4184

Email: brunyon@ucmo.edu

Daniel Wong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Aviation

Daniel has over 30 years of varied experience in the aviation industry working in different roles including engineering, supply chain, marketing & sales, IT, flight operations, and senior management. He has worked with aircraft manufacturers as well as four different airlines in different regions of the world starting as an engineer with a tiny 2 aircraft fleet and progressing up to being a VP in one of the largest international airlines in the world. He and his teams have won multiple individual and team awards for new ideas and innovative projects. In engineering he has been a DE and has worked on aircraft structures, aircraft systems, aircraft interiors, aircraft performance, flight testing, configuration design, airport compatibility, and optimization of B777 and A380 ultra-long range flights.;

Daniel holds a BSc in Aeronautical Engineering Science, an MBA in Technology Engineering Management, and a PhD specializing in Innovation of Complex Products and Systems. He holds a Commercial Pilot’s License with ratings in ME/IR fixed wing, seaplane, helicopter, and gyroplane. He is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow member of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Location: T.R. Gains 210 G

Phone: (660) 543-8411

E-mail: dwong@ucmo.edu

Hunt

Dr. Terry L. Hunt

Associate Professor of Aviation

 

Location T.R. Gaines 210C

Phone: (660)543-8092

 

tlhunt@ucmo.edu

Matthew D. Furedy

Assistant Professor of Aviation

 

 

Location: T.R. Gaines 210 F

Phone: (660)543-8103

Trower

Spencer Trower

Graduate Assistant

 

T. R. Gaines 210M

Phone: (660) 543-4262

 

set35230 @ucmo.edu

 

BallewNatalie

Natalie Ballew
Business/Fiscal Coordinator

APT 108 Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-8217

E-mail: nballew @ucmo.edu

 

Moody

Scotti Holbert
Office Professional for Flight School

Among other duties, Holbert assists students with the necessary steps in obtaining additional financial aid for flight training and updates student accounts in ETA.

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4333
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: holbert@ucmo.edu

Moody

Sheree Moody Sheree                                                                  

Office Professional for T.R. Gaines

T.R. Gaines 210

Phone Number: (660)543-4969                                                           Fax Number:     (660)543-4979

smoody@ucmo.edu

Certified Flight Instructors

Nathan Mutzebaugh
Certified Flight Instructor/Coordinator of Safety

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Office: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: mutzebaugh@ucmo.edu

 

Johnathan Adams
Certified Flight Instructor

 

E-mail: jeadams@ucmo.edu.

Bachani

Bharat Bachani
Certified Flight Instructor

E:mail: bachani@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Martin Baldacci
Certified Flight Instructor

 

E-mail: balcacci@ucmo.edu

Denise Bruce
Certified Flight Instructor

E-mail: dbruce@ucmo.edu

Garrett Brucker
Certified Flight Instructor

WAFB

Phone: 660-543-4464

E-mail: brucker@ucmo.edu

   

Sherry Eaves
Certified Flight Instructor

E-mail: eaves@ucmo.edu

Matt Fischer
Instructor of Flight Operations

Phone: (660) 543-4921

E-mail: mfischer@ucmo.edu

Ryan Hoffman

Ryan Hoffman
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: rrhoffman@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Ben Kaminsky
Certified Flight Instructor

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041
Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Email: kaminsky@ucmo.edu

Amanda May
Certified Flight Instructor/ Coordinator of Stan Eval

Phone: Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-4921

E-mail: ammay@ucmo.edu

Matthew Michaud
Certified Flight Instructor

WAFB

 

E-mail: michaud@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Jonathan Morgan
WAFB-Certified Flight Instructor

 

E-mail: jmorgan@ucmo.edu

Shawn Nault

Shawn Nault
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Office: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: nault@ucmo.edu

Patt, Jacob

Jacob Patt
Temporary Flight Instructor of Flight Operations

Phone: (660) 543-4921

E-mail: jpatt@ucmo.edu

 


Alex Reed

Alex Reed
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: alreed@ucmo.edu

Robert Seago
Certified Flight Instructor

 

E-mail: bseago1@gmail.com

Shattuck, Lamuel

Lemuel Shattuck
Certified Flight Instructor

Email: lshattuck@ucmo.edu

Todd Shugart

Todd Shugart
Flight Scheduler

Located in Hargar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8381

Email: ucmfs@ucmo.edu or shugart@ucmo.edu

Toru Suda
Check Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: suda@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Ashley Suhr
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-8664

Email: suhr@ucmo.edu

 

 

Terry Sunnarborg
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: sunnarborg@ucmo.edu

Voskovitch

Scott Voskovitch
Certified Flight Instructor for ATP Students

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: svoskovitch@ucmo.edu

Brandon Williams

Brandon Williams
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: bcwilliams1@ucmo.edu

Paul Youmans
Certified Flight Instructor/Coordinator of Training

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: youmans@ucmo.edu

Hiromi Naka

Hiromi Zummer
Certified Flight Instructor

Located in Hangar 3 at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-8664
Fax: 660-543-4041

Email: naka@ucmo.edu

Airport Operations
Godfrey, Denis

Denis Godfrey
Coordinator of Airport Operations

Phone: (660) 543-4460

Location: Airport Terminal

E-mail: dgodfrey@ucmo.edu

KC Copters
(Photo Not Available)

Johnny Rowlands
Owner of KC Copters

Phone: (913) 440-9499

 

Scott Eslinger
Chief Pilot, Helicopter

Phone: (678) 249-5200

(Photo Not Available)

Angela Bittel
Office Professional

Mule Center: (660) 543-4055

(Photo Not Available)

David Budensiek
Certified Flight Instructor, Helicopter

(Photo Not Available)

Merrill Smith
Certified Flight Instructor, Helicopter

(Photo Not Available)

Cody Tosi
Certified Flight Instructor, Helicopter

Maintenance
Stephen Quick

Stephen Quick
Director of Aircraft Maintenance

Steve retired from the USAF after serving 20 years in aircraft maintenance on B-52, B-1B and the B-2 aircraft.After military retirement, he taught in the Aviation Department of UCM and was program coordinator for the FAR Part 147 AMT program.With over 13 years in aircraft manufacturing, he spent time with Cessna Aircraft, Hawker Beechcraft and Spirit Aerosystems in manufacturing engineering, Lean/Six Sigma and progressive roles of responsibility in manufacturing operations management.Steve earned a BS in Aviation Maintenance Management and MS in Aviation Safety from UCM.He is a certificated pilot and A&P with IA.As the UCM Director of Aircraft Maintenance, he is able to use leadership/management skills and experience to manage the fleet and maintenance team.

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: (660) 543-4003

E-mail: squick@ucmo.edu

Diana Barker

Diana Barker
Office Professional for Aircraft Maintenance

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: dbarker@ucmo.edu

Troy Ewart

Troy Ewart
Aircraft Mechanic II

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: ewart@ucmo.edu

Hafley, Jason

Jason Hafley
Mechanic I

Phone: (660) 543-4947

E-mail: jhafley@ucmo.edu

Terri Nieman

Terry Nieman
Aircraft Mechanic II

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: tlnieman@ucmo.edu

Scott Schroer

Scott Schroer
Aircraft Mechanic I

Located in the Maintenance Hangar at Skyhaven Airport

Phone: 660-543-4947

Email: schroer@ucmo.edu

Dispatch
Buery, Jason

Joseph Buery
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: jlb58690@ucmo.edu

Crull, Trenton

Trenton Crull
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: ttc91200@ucmo.edu

Devries, Andrew

Andrew Devries
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: amd51640@ucmo.edu

(Photo Not Available)

Zoe Gnaedinger
Dispatcher

Phone: (660) 543-8664

E-mail: zxg58460@ucmo.edu