Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content


History at UCM

HISTORY
Understanding today's complex world and seeking the best vision for tomorrow.

M.A. in History at UCM

M.A. IN HISTORY
Explore the depths of history and discover new ways to think about the past.

Social Studiesat UCM

SOCIAL STUDIES
Explore innovative techniques and proven methods for a career in education.

Africana Studies at UCM

AFRICANA STUDIES
Discover multicultural contributions throughout history and inspire change.

Anthropology at UCM

ANTHROPOLOGY
Contribute to the rich diversity of the rapidly changing world.


Programs and Advising

 

Within the Department of History and Anthropology you have several major and minor options: 

 

  • A Bachelor of Arts or a Bachelor of Science degree in History.
  • A BS degree in Anthropology.
  • Through an indivdiualized major, a BA or BS degree in Africana Studies
  • For teacher certification, a BS in Education through our Social Studies program. 
  • Minors in History, Anthropology, Africana Studies, and Social Studies.

 

The Undergraduate Catalog outlines the requirements for each program and option, and the Registrar's Office provides four-year plans for all majors.  Additionally, the department's Undergraduate Survival Guide offers recommended programs of study and other suggestions for coursework and success at UCM.

 

 

Advisors

 

We encourage all majors and minors to discuss their scheduling and degree programs with their designated advisors throughout your time at UCM.  The more you discuss your future career plans with our advisors, the better we can assist you in selecting courses, finding internships, and exploring other opportunities to reach your goals.

 

History Undergrads  Dr. Jessica Cannon  Wood 136H, jacannon@ucmo.edu
History Grad Students  Dr. Micah Alpaugh  Wood 136L, alpaugh@ucmo.edu
Anthropology  Dr. Amber Clifford-Napoleone  Wood 136B, clifford@ucmo.edu
Anthropology  Dr. Jeff Yelton  Wood 136O, yelton@ucmo.edu
Africana Studies  Dr. Delia Gillis  Wood 110, dgillis@ucmo.edu
Social Studies  Dr. Star Nance  Wood 124, nance@ucmo.edu