Skip to Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Earn your Psychology degree at UCM - Lee's Summit

Designed for busy, career-driven students, UCM offers a B.A. in Psychology completion program at UCM - Lee's Summit.

Testimonial about the B.S. in Psychology degree at UCM

"I chose Psychology at UCM because of the real-life aspect of the program and the technology in it."
- Madeline Cramer, B.A. in Psychology alumna

Testimonial about the B.S. in Psychology degree at UCM

"I've been able to experience on-the-job training while assisting Dr. Lundervold in the Behavioral Medicine Lab."
- Amy Garcia, B.S. in Psychology graduate and current Psychology graduate student

Testimonial about the B.A. in Psychology degree at UCM

"I've been able to apply what I've learned in my classes to the real world and many of my other classes."
- Sara Thomas, B.A. in Psychology graduate and current Criminal Justice graduate student

Testimonial about the B.A. in Psychology degree at UCM

"The psychology professors at UCM were more than willing to be mentors. They genuinely cared about my goals and success."
- Brittany Echols, B.A. in Psychology alumna

Annual Banquet

Each spring the Department of Psychological Science holds its annual banquet, co-sponsored by Psi Chi and the Psychology Club.  The banquet includes a State of the Department Address by the department chair and recognition of an outstanding undergraduate and an outstanding graduate student. Scholarship recipients are also recognized.

The 2017 banquet will be held at the American Legion hall in Warrensburg on Wednesday, April 5, with the social hour starting at 5:30 pm. Tickets must be purchased in advance from the department office, Lovinger 1111. Tickets are $8 each and must be purchased by March 17.


The 2016 banquet was held at the Elk's Lodge on April 20 at the Elk's Lodge in Warrensburg. Approximately 90 students, faculty, emerti faculty, and alumni attended.

The following students received $1,000 Tuition Awards:

  • Senior
    • Amanda Fuller
    • Amy Biggerstaff
    • Brooke Blythe
    • Cassie Dace
  • Sophomore
    • Kailee Chitwood

The recipient of the Arthur J. TerKeurst Scholarship was Shania Cole.
The recipient of the Robert N. Higgins Award was Allison Wright.
The recipient of the Joseph J. Ryan Graduate Scholarship was Demie Derry.

The Jeff Brown Leadership Awards were presented to Sara Hancock and Adam Runyan.

Jerome M. Sattler Student Research Awards

  • Best Undergraduate Research Project
    • Amy Biggerstaff
  • Best Graduate Poster
    • Meredith Gardner
  • Outstanding Thesis
    • Adrionia Molder

The Outstanding Undergraduate Students were Miranda Maher, Brooke Blythe, and Celeste Anderson.

The Outstanding Graduate Student was Sara Hancock.

The Outstanding Undergraduate Professors was Dr. Ellie Hwang.
The Outstanding Graduate Professor was Dr. David Kreiner.

Amy Quearry was recognized as the College of Health, Science, and Technology nominee for the Reid Hemphill Outstanding Graduate Student Award.

Professor Appreciation Awards were presented to each faculty member. Emeriti faculty were also recognized.